Ada, Byng and Sulphur had a total of 12 players selected to the 2018 All-District Class 4A-3 fastpitch softball team.

Freshman sensation Amaya Frizell was the lone Ada representative. She was chosen as a utility player.

Byng had five players make the all-district squad, including seniors Sydnee Fortner (shortstop) and Molly Rainey (outfield), junior Krosby Clinton (catcher) and sophomores Kennedy Large (utility) and Trenity Miller (third base).

Fortner hit .455 with four triples, eight doubles, 14 RBIs and a team-best 13 stolen bases for the Lady Pirates. Rainey finished with a .441 average that included three home runs, seven triples, 10 doubles and 34 RBIs.

Clinton batted .420 with a home run, two triples, eight doubles and 32 RBIs. Large hit .465 with three home runs, two triples, five doubles and 28 RBIs. Miller’s sophomore campaign included a .341 batting average with two triples, eight doubles and 22 RBIs.

Sulphur’s Makela Mobly was named the 4A-3 Player of the Year. Mobly finished 9-for-17 with three RBIs and five runs scored in four regional tournaments this year. Sulphur finished the season at 31-9.

Joining Mobly on the all-district list were pitchers Harley Beesley and Blakelyn Barber, catcher Kady Lynch, outfielder Mackenzie Ruth and utility player Meredith Jones.

The rest of the 4A-3 all-district team included: Pitcher of the Year Emmy Guthrie of Lone Grove, Offensive Player of the Year Maci McMurtrey of Lone Grove, Defensive Player of the Year Logan Martin of Pauls Valley, pitcher Riley Grant of Plainview, first baseman Shelby Stevenson of Lone Grove, second baseman Lexi Hackney of Plainview, outfielder Abby Weatherford of Pauls Valley, utility Kyann Melton of Madill, utility Carlie Vestle of Pauls Valley and utility Taryn Martin of Plainview.

The Coach of the Year was Jimmy Miller of Lone Grove, who guided his team to this week’s Class 4A State Tournament with a record of 25-6.

Jeff Cali has been covering sports in the Ada area since the mid-90s. He graduated from Byng High School and earned a bachelor’s degree from East Central University.