OU football: Kyler Murray, OU’s ace in the hole, waited for opportunity

Kyle Phillips / The Transcript

Oklahoma quarterback Kyler Murray warms up before the Sooners' game against Kansas State on Oct. 27 at Owen Field. Murray waited two seasons to become OU's starter and could have left school after being drafted by the MLB's Oakland Athletics last June.

NORMAN, Okla. — Oklahoma landed a league-high 11 players on the All-Big 12 first and second team, the league announced Wednesday.

OU head coach Lincoln Riley (co-coach of the year), quarterback Kyler Murray (offensive player of the year), kicker Austin Seibert (special teams player of the year) and offensive lineman Dru Samia (one of three offensive linemen of the year) all claimed individual honors.

The teams and awards are voted on by league coaches, who cannot vote for their own players.

Murray is OU’s fourth consecutive league offensive player of the year. Riley shared coach of the year honors with Iowa State’s Matt Campbell.

A league-high seven Sooners made the first team: Murray (unanimous), receiver Marquise Brown, tight end Grant Calcaterra, right tackle Cody Ford, right guard Ben Powers, Samia and Seibert.

OU players on the second team are: fullback Carson Meier, left tackle Bobby Evans, kick returner/punt returner Tre Brown and linebacker Kenneth Murray.