Chickasaw Nation Election Secretary Rita Loder on Wednesday evening announced results of the Chickasaw Nation general election.

Incumbent legislators Toby Perkins and David Woerz were re-elected, while challenger Scott Wood defeated incumbent legislator D. Scott Colbert.

Incumbent legislators Nancy Elliott, of Ada, and Shana Tate Hammond, of Ardmore, will retain their seats as neither faced a challenger.

Incumbent Supreme Court Justice Barbara Ann Smith, of Newcastle, will also retain her seat on the court as no other candidates filed for the court.

Pontotoc District Seat 1 incumbent Toby Perkins, of Ada, received 2,344 votes to defeat challenger Matthew Scott Gore, of Ada, who received 764 votes.

Pickens District Seat 1 incumbent David Woerz, of Ardmore, received 1,596 votes to defeat challenger Mike Watson, of Lone Grove, who received 527 votes.

Read more in The Ada News. Call 580-332-4433 to subscribe today!