- Ada, Oklahoma


November 1, 2013

East Central Football Notebook


Ada —

Ketrich Harmon is the top rusher for the Wonder Boys, with 582 yards on 80 attempts. He has four TDs, and the next player on the rushing list has just 158 yards. ATU is not expected to start their regular starting quarterback, Luke Halpin (1,4790 yards, seven TDs), who was injured last week against Ouachita Baptist.  Preston Conder will likely get the nod instead. He has seen action in five games this season and is 17-of-36 for 202 yards with no touchdowns and three interceptions. The top receivers for ATU quarterbacks are John Simpson and Jonathan Keener. Simpson has three TDs with 216 yards, while Keener has 176 yards but has yet to score.

Linebacker Logan Genz is at the top of the defensive charts for the Wonder Boys. Genz has 82 (39-43) total tackles, nine tackles-for-loss, two interceptions, four break-ups, six passes defended and one forced fumble.

Against the Wonder Boys:  After leading for most of the game, ECU earned a 33-30 win over Arkansas Tech at Thone Stadium on a 27-yard field goal from senior Brian Gonzalez in the last meeting on Nov. 3, 2012.

Spencer Bond was 16-of-26 on the day; he threw one TD and added two rushing touchdowns of his own. Caleb Holley caught the receiving TD for the Tigers and had three catches for 66 yards.

ECU garnered a total of 493 yards of offense to the Wonder Boys' 403, with the big difference coming on the rushing game. The Tigers rushed for a combined 268 yards to ATU’s 168.

The Series: The Tigers and the Wonder Boys have only played each other on 12 previous occasions, with ECU holding a 9-3 lead in the all-time series. The Tigers won the last two games, both being contested on the road. The first meeting was in 1930, when the Tigers claimed a 6-0 win.

Coach Raymond Monica: The new Wonder Boys head coach spent the last seven seasons as the head coach at Kutztown University in Kutztown, Pa., leading the Golden Bears to a cumulative overall record of 45-34, two NCAA Division II Playoffs appearances (2010 and 2011) and their first Pennsylvania State Athletics Conference championship (2011).

Text Only | Photo Reprints