- Ada, Oklahoma


July 31, 2013

Another new OCRS winner at OSP

Oil Center —

Shane Sellers stood tall in the saddle Saturday and captured his first-ever Oil Capital Racing Series sprint car feature win when he capitalized on a miscue by feature race leader Fred Mattox at George Welch’s Oklahoma Sports Park on an unusually cool summer evening.

With the victory in the 25-lap affair, Sellers becomes the 10th different winning driver in 15 events conducted in the 2013 OCRS racing season and the seventh driver this season alone to win his first-ever series main event. 

Mattox started on the pole and got the jump at the start to lead over Sellers, who started alongside Mattox in his sprinter. Casey Wills, who won the last OCRS main event two weeks ago, settled into third position at the completion of the opening lap followed by Chance Morton, a winner at the Caney Valley Speedway in May. 

An early battle for the fifth position saw “The Princess," Shayla Waddell, and Johnny "Hotrod" Kent go at one another side by side for an entire lap and a half while never once separating from one another until Kent got the advantage on Waddell at one point, coming out of turn four only to have Waddell get back by him before another lap was completed. The action of these two drivers alone had the crowd enthralled with what it was witnessing. 

Entering lap seven, Mattox came upon lapped traffic, and what lead he had on Sellers began to evaporate. Sellers would reel Mattox in but would not muster enough steam to make a pass.

Working the 10th and 11th laps, a big battle was taking place among Kent, Gary Owens (who won at the Oklahoma Sports Park last May) and current points leader Harli White for the seventh position. Working lap 12, White would get by Owens and as the field took the halfway sign from OCRS starter JD Etter, a huge crash occurred between Brandon James and Dillon Ake in turn three with both cars flipping. Fortunately, both drivers would be OK.

Text Only | Photo Reprints