- Ada, Oklahoma

May 9, 2014

OCRS sprint cars headed to local track

Tulsa — The sprint cars of the Oil Capital Racing Series will be at the ultra-quick Oklahoma Sports Park Saturday night for the sixth annual Harold Leep Jr. Memorial race. 

This event honors a great man who passed much too soon and was a member of one of the most prestigious racing families in the region.

Earlier this year, Harold Leep Sr. passed, and the OCRS series is honoring him with the naming of the OCRS championship trophy, which is now aptly named the Harold Leep Championship Trophy. These two great men will be recognized together during this special evening at the Oklahoma Sports Park, located 10 miles northwest of Ada on state Highway 3W. 

In the first four events held on the 2014 OCRS tour, there have been three different victory lane visitors to date. Whit Gastineau of Moore opened the season with two straight wins, followed by Shane Sellers in the third event. The next hero came in the form of last week's winner, Alex DeCamp. 

Of these drivers, only Gastineau has won a Harold Leep Jr. Memorial event, which he accomplished in 2011. 

Oklahoma City pilot Frank Dittman was honored as the first Leep Jr. event winner in 2009, while Mike Goodman reaped rewards in 2010. Four-time OCRS champion Jamie Passmore scored in 2012 and last year, it was Pauls Valley native Gary Owens collecting the win for his second career OCRS victory.

One driver who has yet to crack victory lane in 2014 but is knocking on the door is Sapulpa native Danny Smith. With two seconds, a third and a fourth on his 2014 resumé, Smith finds himself at the top of the point charts in the chase for the title.

Smith’s lead is quite slim, however, as he sits just 33 points ahead of Andrew Deal, who is only four markers ahead of Norman’s Sheldon Barksdale for the second spot going into this week’s event. Barksdale is coming off a second-place run last week at the Tri-State Speedway, his OCRS career best.

Fellow Normanite Danny Jennings has announced his intentions to compete in this week’s OCRS event as well. Jennings captured the seventh annual Oklahoma State Championship race at the Oklahoma Sports Park last season for his initial OCRS score. The number 1J Maxim is always a tough rocket to stop.  

Oklahoma Sports Park is a track that always provides high-speed, high-drama racing action for race fans. Track promoter George Welch and his staff are always ready for the OCRS sprint cars to visit their speedway. 

Additionally, OCRS has two more tour stops at OSP in 2014. A mid-summer July 26 date dots the schedule next, and the third and final visit to OSP will be on Sept. 13 for the eighth annual Oklahoma State Championship race.

Gates will open at 5 p.m., with racing to start at approximately 7:30 p.m.

For more information, phone (580) 332-5383 or visit the OSP website at Additional information on the OCRS series can be viewed at: