ADA — A number of Ada High School basketball players received honors from the Southeast 6 Conference.

Cougar forward Nick Anderson and Lady Cougar guard Erin Walling made the first-team all-conference, while Ada’s Catie Newport was selected to the second team.

Cougar Caleb Roberson and Lady Cougar duo Charlesey YoungWolfe and Newakis Girdley were on the honorable mention list.

The Southeast 6 Conference consists of Ada, Broken Bow, Durant, Hugo, Idabel and McAlester. Broken Bow (Class 4A) and Hugo boys (3A) both made it to the state tournament with Hugo finishing as the runner-up. The McAlester girls, coached by former Atoka standout Crystal Robinson, not only made it to the Class 5A State Tournament but came home with the championship.

“With the good showing in the post-season from our conference, it ought to tell you about the outstanding talent level we have in this league,” Ada boys coach Ron Anderson said. “Making the all-conference team in this conference is quite an honor.”

“I’m very happy for our girls and the recognition they received for their performance this season,” Ada girls coach Michelle Shannon said. “It is an honor to be recognized by the other coaches in our league.”

LaShonda Green from McAlester and Dustin Hopson of Broken Bow were selected Southeast 6 Conference Most Valuable Players. Idabel boys coach Jeff Coleman and Robinson were chosen by their peers as Conference Coaches of the Year

Southeast 6 All-Conference Team


Coach of the Year: Jeff Coleman, Idabel

Most Valuable Player: Dustin Hopson, Broken Bow

First Team: Nick Anderson, Ada; Kendrick Willis, Idabel; Dewy Whitaker, Idabel; Prevon Erving, McAlester; D.J. Shanklin, Hugo.

Second Team: Kyle McKinney, Broken Bow; Carlos Henderson, Hugo; Cliff Smitherman, McAlester; T.J. Broades, Idabel; Spuds Cook, Durant.

Honorable Mention: Caleb Roberson, Ada; Derien Jefferson, Broken Bow; Tra Williams, Durant; Patrick Smith, Hugo; David DeGiaComo, McAlester.


Coach of the Year: Crystal Robinson, McAlester

Most Valuable Player: LaShonda Green, McAlester

First Team: Erin Walling, Ada; Ashlyn Stafford, Hugo; Shaylee Griffin, McAlester; Skylar Burris, Broken Bow; Rodneshia Broades, Broken Bow.

Second Team: Catie Newport, Ada; Brandi Whitmore, Broken Bow; Gabby Wells, Idabel; Alicia Aho, Idabel; Shanice Holman, Hugo.

Honorable Mention: Newakis Girdley, Ada; Charlesey YoungWolfe, Ada; Kaylie Baxter, Durant; Shaina Crites, Durant; Hailey Elrod, Durant; Wykeena King, Hugo; Kriss Holiday, Hugo; Kacey Beard, Idabel; Alex Bartholomew, Idabel; Kaleisha Johnson, McAlester.


This Week's Circulars