Seven Sooners nab preseason Big 12 honors

Oklahoma freshman defensive back Brendan Radley-Hiles was named the preseason Big 12 football newcomer of the year Wednesday. The honor is voted on by reporters who cover the conference.

NORMAN — Oklahoma placed a league-high seven players on the preseason All-Big 12 team, the league announced Wednesday.

Including awards, eight OU players were selected.

Running back Rodney Anderson, wide receiver Marquise Brown, tight end Grant Calcaterra, offensive tackle Bobby Evans, offensive guard Ben Powers and kicker Austin Seibert were all selected to the offensive team by reporters who cover the league.

Freshman defensive back Brendan Radley-Hiles was named preseason Big 12 newcomer of the year, nudging out other leading candidates Calvin Anderson (Texas) and receiver Jalen Hurd (Baylor), who are both transfers.

Seibert, who handles all of OU’s kicking duties, made the defensive team as a punter.

Radley-Hiles was a five-star recruit, according to Rivals, and a four-star by 247sports. The California native who attended IMG Academy (Florida) drew rave reviews during spring practice and is expected to earn a starting position.

Anderson, who rushed for 1,161 yards last season — mostly in a torrid finish down the season’s final stretch — was part of a difficult race for preseason All-Big 12 running back with Oklahoma State’s Justice Hill and Iowa State’s David Montgomery. There wound up being a tie amongst the three, so each made the team.

West Virginia’s Will Grier was named preseason offensive player of the year. TCU defensive end Ben Banogu earned the same award for defense.

The Big 12 preseason media poll will be released Thursday. OU, the three-time conference champion, is expected to top the list.

League media days are July 16-17 at The Star in Frisco, Texas. OU, Iowa State, Kansas, TCU and Texas Tech will appear on July 16.

Baylor, Kansas State, Oklahoma State, Texas and West Virginia will take the stage July 17.

OU’s Big 12 opener is Sept. 15 at Iowa State.



QB: Will Grier. West Virginia

RB: David Montgomery, Iowa State

RB: Rodney Anderson, Oklahoma

RB: Justice Hill, Oklahoma State

WR: Denzel Mims, Baylor

WR: Marquise Brown, Oklahoma

WR: David Sills V, West Virginia

TE: Grant Calcaterra, Oklahoma

OL: Dalton Risner, Kansas State

OL: Bobby Evans, Oklahoma

OL: Ben Powers, Oklahoma

OL: Marcus Keyes, Oklahoma State

OL: Yodny Cajuste, West Virginia

PK: Austin Seibert, Oklahoma

KR/PR: KaVontae Turpin, TCU


DL: JaQuan Bailey, Iowa State

DL: Daniel Wise, Kansas

DL: Jordan Brailford, Oklahoma State

DL: Ben Banogu, TCU

DL: Breckyn Hager, Texas

LB: Joe Dineen Jr., Kansas

LB: Dakota Allen, Texas Tech

LB: David Long Jr., West Virginia

DB: Brian Peavy, Iowa State

DB: Kendall Adams, Kansas State

DB: Kris Boyd, Texas

DB: Jah’Shawn Johnson, Texas Tech

DB: Justus Parker, Texas Tech

P: Austin Seibert, Oklahoma

Offensive Player of the Year: Will Grier, West Virginia, QB

Defensive Player of the Year: Ben Banogu, TCU, DL

Newcomer of the Year: Brendan Radley-Hiles, Oklahoma, DB

Jeff Cali has been covering sports in the Ada area since the mid-90s. He graduated from Byng High School and earned a bachelor’s degree from East Central University.