ADA — Rosters for the 33rd annual Ada Evening News All-Star Classic have been finalized after a meeting by the Ada Area Basketball Coaches Association last Wednesday.

The basketball extravaganza is scheduled for Wednesday, May 17 at Stonewall High School's Murphy-Roberts Gymnasium.

The girls' game is set to begin at 6:30 p.m. with the boys' game to follow at 8 p.m. The contests will pit senior players from the East against senior players from the West.

The ever-popular 3-point Shoot Out and Slam Dunk competitions will also be part of the All-Star Classic. Preliminary rounds for those event will take place at 4 p.m. on game day (May 17) inside the Murphy-Roberts Gymnasium. Those activities are open to any varsity players regardless of classification from the 18 schools that now make up the Ada Area Basketball Coaches Association.

Rosters for the East and West girls' and East and West boys' team were selected last week from senior players from participating AABCA schools. Each team consists of 10 players and two alternates.

Members of the East Girls' team include: Kelsey Gee and Brittnea Nemecek of Allen; Lauren Sandmann and Jamaica Pebworth of Coalgate; Chelsey Bennett, Beth Nevland, Charissa Smith and Casey Morgan of Latta; Tobie Daniel of Stonewall and Desiree Bell of Tupelo.

Alternates for the East girls are Katelyn Roberts of Tupelo and Destyn Stallings of Holdenville.

David Tinkler of Latta will coach the East girls.

Members of the West Girls' team include: Joy Barrick of Ada; Destiny Graham of Asher; Stacie Bell and Kelsey Williamson of Byng; Rachael Cole of Konawa; Tess Truett and Megan Odom of Roff; Ashley Mann and Ashley Williams of Sulphur; and Sally Ann Wallace of Wanette.

Alternates for the West girls are C.J. Horton of Roff and Morgan Lipsey of Wanette.

Coaching the West girls is Joe Neely of Byng.

The East boys roster includes: Bubba Stephens of Allen; Daniel Harris of Calvin; Daniel Stingley and Chiefton Camp of Coalgate; Tanner Streater of Holdenville; Isaac Vandever and Kolbie Brown of Latta; Dante Larney of Moss; Brian Monroe and Cole Carter of Stonewall.

Alternates for the East boys are Jared Pharr of Stonewall and Morgan Fitzgerald of Holdenville.

Coaching the East boys will be Jack Ward of Coalgate.

The West boys roster includes: Patrick Maloy of Ada; Preston Petty and Heath Wall of Byng; Lee Mullins of Konawa; Bud Beratto of Mill Creek; Dearth Parker, C.J. Stewart and Jason Trimmer of Roff; T.J. Gaines of Stratford; and Mat Wolf of Sulphur.

Alternates for the West boys are Derral Isaacs of Vanoss and Jeremy Lavorchek of Stratford.

The coach for the West boys is Darrick Farriell of Roff.

Players for the West teams will wear white or light-colored uniforms on game day while the players on the East will dress in dark suits. All-Star coaches will contact their players to set up at least one practice date.

Any area coach who knows of one of his or her players who will not be able to participate in the All-Star Classic is urged to contact The Ada Evening News or the All-Star Classic coach as soon as possible so a replacement can be named.

For more information, phone Jeff Cali at (580) 310-7526; Bob Forrest at (580) 310-7555 or the Ada Evening News sports department at 1-800-259-8682.