Rosters for the 38th annual Ada Evening News All-Star Classic have been finalized after a meeting by the Ada Area Basketball Coaches Association last Wednesday.

The basketball extravaganza is scheduled for Wednesday, May 11, at Byng High School’s Bill Koller Field House.

The girls’ game is set to begin at 6:30 p.m. with the boys’ game to follow at 8 p.m. The contests will pit senior players from the East against senior players from the West.

The ever-popular 3-point Shoot Out and Slam Dunk competitions will also be part of the All-Star Classic. Preliminary rounds for those events will take place at 4 p.m. on game day (May 11) inside the Bill Koller Field House at Byng. Doors will open at 3:45 p.m. Those activities are open to any varsity players regardless of classification from the 18 schools that now make up the Ada Area Basketball Coaches Association. Players must have been involved with his or her school’s basketball program.

Rosters for the East and West girls’ and East and West boys’ teams were selected last week from senior players from participating AABCA schools.

Members of the East Girls’ team include: Erin Walling of Ada; Carley Collard, Brandie Horton and Jordyn Mills of Allen; Alex Linam of Coalgate; Kortney West and Madison Snowden of Latta; Brettney Brady and Savannah Burwell of Stonewall; and Shanna Davidson of Tupelo.

Alternates for the East girls are: Charlesey YoungWolfe of Ada, Rachel Franks of Holdenville and Carlee Talley of Moss.

Jeremy Strong of Allen will coach the East girls.

Members of the West Girls’ team include: Byng players Presli Manuel, Dayton Hendricks and Brenna Williamson; Konawa players Nikki Nail, Melanie Gladden, Chelsea Gillum and Courtney Capps; Chelsea Reeves of Sulphur, Katie Priest of Vanoss and Tanna Middleton of Wanette.

Alternates for the West girls are: Jamee McDonald of Asher, Teri Ratto of Stratford and Sarah Henson of Vanoss.

Coaching the West girls is Jason Fulks of Vanoss.

The East boys roster includes: Nick Anderson and Christian Johnson of Ada; Bradley Stowe and Jaymin Riley of Coalgate; Caleb Deer and Denzel Hughes of Holdenville; Dylan Tinkler and Reed Johnson of Latta; Zach Tiger of Moss; and Dakota McCollum of Stonewall.

Alternates for the East boys are: Luke Mullicane of Allen; David Hamilton of Stonewall; and Jake Sanders of Tupelo.

Coaching the East boys will be Ron Anderson of Ada.

The West boys roster includes: Ryan Williams of Byng; Devin Terry and Cody Stinnett of Konawa; Brendon Barr and Tim Wallen of Roff; Stratford players Tommy Lawson, Dalen Qualls and Matthew Knight; Ty Williams of Sulphur; and Michael Hayes of Vanoss.

Alternates for the West boys are: Damian Doshier of Asher; Ali Gonzalez of Vanoss and Bo Starks of Wanette.

The coach for the West boys is Mark Qualls of Stratford.

Players for the West teams will wear white or light-colored uniforms on game day while the players on the East will dress in dark suits. All-Star coaches will contact their players to set up at least one practice date.

Any area coach who knows of one of his or her players who will not be able to participate in the All-Star Classic is urged to contact The Ada Evening News or the All-Star Classic coach as soon as possible so a replacement can be named.

For more information, phone Jeff Cali at (580) 310-7526 or Bob Forrest at (405) 229-0602.

This Week's Circulars