Rosters for the 44th annual Ada News All-Star Classic have been finalized after a meeting by the Ada Area Basketball Coaches Association at Delicias Mexican Restaurant.

The basketball extravaganza is scheduled for Saturday, May 20, inside Ada High School's Cougar Activity Center.

The girls game is set to begin at 1:30 p.m., with the boys game to follow at 3 p.m. The contests will pit senior players from the East against senior players from the West.

The ever-popular 3-point Shootout and Slam Dunk competitions will also be part of the All-Star Classic.

Preliminary rounds for those events will take place at 11:30 a.m. on game day (May 20) inside the Ada gym. Doors will open at approximately 11 a.m. for those events. The gym will be cleared following the completion of the preliminary rounds.

The 3-point Shootout and Slam Dunk contests are open to any varsity players, regardless of classification, from the 17 schools that now make up the Ada Area Basketball Coaches Association. Players must have been involved with their school’s varsity basketball program.

Members of the East Girls team include: Faith Caldwell and Chelsea Wedlow of Allen; Tarin Dubler of Asher; Jaylee Gray and Mychal Barnett of Byng; Maci Inselman of Holdenville; Maria Priest, Taylor Bates and Matison Worcester of Latta; and Kaitlin Watson of Tupelo.

Alternates for the East Girls are Cheyenne Fritz of Tupelo, Triniti House of Moss and Ashley Pingleton of Holdenville.

Bruce Plunk of Latta will coach the East girls.

Members of the West Girls team include: Aneli Thomsen, Kaity Redman, McKenzie Dean, Payton Taylor and Madalyn Jessepe of Ada; Shayln Coslow of Coalgate; Cheyenne Galimba of Konawa; Jessie Scott of Roff; Presley Kirkwood of Sasakwa; and Carli Etheridge of Stratford.

Alternates for the West girls are: Bless Roberts of Coalgate, Bree Willis of Ada and Shané Gore of Sasakwa.

Coaching the West girls is Christie Jennings of Ada.

The East boys roster includes: Josiah Jones and Tucker Elliott of Allen; Jalon Birdshead of Byng; Ryan Sherry of Holdenville; Isaiah Ott, Kele Parnacher, Dustin West and Jesse Albert of Latta; and Tyler Waters and Luke Leland of Tupelo.

Alternates for the East boys are: Preston Patton of Asher, Ty Brown of Allen and Justin Holman of Calvin.

Coaching the East boys will be Cody Williams of Byng.

The West boys roster includes: Ben Pruitt of Ada; John Lucas of Roff; Caleb Garcia of Sasakwa; Christian Morgan and John Leflore of Stonewall; Karson McKinney and Kyler Wade of Stratford; and Trae McGinnis, Ricky Phillips and Cody Tharp of Vanoss..

Alternates for the West boys are: Dakota Rogers of Stratford, Dawson Taylor of Sasakwa and Trent Cox of Wanette.

The coach for the West boys is Sasakwa’s Paxton Kilby.

Players for the West teams will wear white or light-colored uniforms on game day and will be the home team on the scoreboard, while the players on the East team will dress in dark suits and be visitors on the scoreboard. All-Star coaches will contact their players to set up at least one practice date.

Any area coach who knows of players who will not be able to participate in the All-Star Classic is urged to contact The Ada News sports department or the All-Star Classic coach as soon as possible so a replacement can be named.

Jeff Cali has been covering sports in the Ada area since the mid-90s. He graduated from Byng High School and earned a bachelor’s degree from East Central University.