MCALESTER — Ada residents Duane Murray and Paul Rosser Jr. were among 21 people who were inducted into the Oklahoma State Softball Hall of Fame during a special banquet last month at the McAlester Elks Lodge.

Many of those inducted have been associated with the game for years, whether as players, umpires, managers or supporting the game in some other way.

Rory Davidson, chair of the OSASA Hall of Fame Committee, said each of the inductees deserved the honor. “Their sportsmanship and love of the game is unbelievable,” he said. “I know most of them, and it’s still amazing how much they love the game and try to pass that love on to others.”

Meritorious service

4 Duane Murray, Ada

4 Thomas Crowl, McAlester

4 Billy Jack Boatright, McAlester


4 Emmaline “Happy” Carney, McAlester

4 Paul Rosser Jr., Ada

4 Rob Ellis, Panama

4 Ronny Miller, Valliant


4 Stephen Kearney, Muskogee


4 Barry Love, Muskogee


4 Ron Joslin, McAlester

4 Tom Montgomer, Norman

4 Robert Buckner, Chickasha


4 George Jack, Poteau

4 Harold “Weiner” Roberson, Boswell

4 Sherwin “Spunk” Johnson, Sallisaw

4 David Clay, Rattan

4 John Sabatucci, Poteau

4 Keith Barnes, McAlester

4 Brian Haney, McAlester

4 Robert Langley, Hugo (posthumous induction)

This Week's Circulars