OKLAHOMA CITY — Russell Westbrook has been named an MVP finalist along with Houston's James Harden and San Antonio's Kawhi Leonard.

The NBA on TNT team announced finalists for the league's major awards Friday evening before Game 2 of the Eastern Conference Finals. Westbrook is considered the MVP frontrunner after becoming the second player ever to average a triple-double for a full season, putting up 31.6 points, 10.7 rebounds and 10.4 assists while helping Oklahoma City to a 47-35 record.

Though votes had to be filed at the conclusion of the regular season, the NBA will announce the MVP winner at an official awards show in New York City on June 26. 

Other awards finalists are listed below.

Sixth Man of the Year

Eric Gordon, Houston

Lou Williams, Houston

Andre Iguodala, Golden State

Most Improved Player

Giannis Antetokounmpo, Milwaukee

Nikola Jokic, Denver

Rudy Gobert, Utah

Defensive Player of the Year

Kawhi Leonard, San Antonio

Rudy Gobert, Utah

Draymond Green, Golden State

Coach of the Year

Gregg Popovich, San Antonio

Mike D'Antoni, Houston

Erik Spoelstra, Miami

Rookie of the Year

Dario Saric, Philadelphia

Joel Embiid, Philadelphia

Malcolm Brogdon, Milwaukee

Most Valuable Player

Russell Westbrook, Oklahoma City

James Harden, Houston

Kawhi Leonard, San Antonio

Fred Katz is the Thunder beat writer for the Norman Transcript and CNHI Oklahoma as well as the host of the Locked on Thunder podcast. Follow him on Twitter: @FredKatz.