TAHLEQUAH, Okla. — With balloting for tribal council seats approaching on Nov. 5, the election board for the United Keetoowah Band of Cherokee Indians recently announced candidates for contested seats.

Voting for the Tribal Council Election will be 7 a.m.-7 p.m., with any runoffs scheduled for Dec. 3. Tribal councilors serve terms of two years.

The board reported that Teresa Webber, incumbent for the Tahlequah District, will face challengers Mary Girty, Donald Adair and Jeffery Wacoche.

Clifford Wofford, incumbent for the Cooweescoowee District, will run against Ramona Ukestine.

The Delaware District race includes challenger Jerry Hansen and incumbent Adalene Smith.

Sequoyah District incumbent Mary Duvall will face Barry Dotson.

In the Goingsnake District, challenger Sharon Benoit is running against incumbent William Christie.

Polling places for each district are: Tahlequah at the UKB Wellness Center, 18529 W. Keetoowah Circle; Cooweescoowee at Emmanuel Baptist Church, 828 S. Muskogee Ave., Claremore; Delaware at the Delaware County Library, 102 N. Fifth St., Jay; Sequoyah at the UKB Sallisaw Satellite Office, 3750 W. Cherokee Ave., Sallisaw; and Goingsnake at the two sites of Maryetta School, 100 Maryetta Road, Stilwell, and the UKB Kansas Satellite Office, behind Speedy's Gas Station, 107 Tulsa Ave., Kansas, Oklahoma.

The list of candidates is not official until the UKB Election Board verifies eligibility and any appeals are concluded.

Four incumbents are unopposed: Eddie Sacks of the Canadian District; Charles Smoke of the Saline District, Peggy Girty of the Illinois District, and Frankie Still of the Flint District.