Seven counties in Oklahoma and one in Arkansas have been added to a federal drought disaster declaration by U.S. Department of Agriculture Secretary Tom Vilsack.

Vilsack announced Wednesday that Lincoln County in Arkansas and Cleveland, Lincoln, Okfuskee, Oklahoma, Ottawa, Pottawatomie and Seminole counties in Oklahoma were among 44 counties in 12 states added to the list.

The designation makes qualified farm operators eligible for low-interest emergency loans.

The USDA has designated a total of 1,628 counties in 33 states as disaster areas—1,496 due to drought.


This Week's Circulars