5-25 Retired educators.jpg

Area retired educators were among those attending the Oklahoma Retired Educators Association convention recently in Oklahoma City. Seated, from left, are Lanny Sliger, Ruth Ann Taylor, Tom Stephens and Gerri Stephens; at back are Mary Scalf, Judy Hisaw, Terry Ford, Vaden Morgan and Charles Barrick.

The Ada News

OKLAHOMA CITY — Several Ada area retired educators were among more than 400 members of Oklahoma Retired Educators Association (OREA) in attendance at the organization’s annual convention and House of Delegates in Oklahoma City May 11. Speaker for the event was Capt. Jack Parker, a well-known humorist, who entertained the audience with his wit and wisdom acquired over a lifetime as an Oklahoma farmer and rancher.

The House of Delegates is the legislative body for the 14,000-member OREA, recognized as the representative voice for retired teachers. In Oklahoma City, delegates received reports on OREA activities and finances in the last year, elected a new president, Elaine Dodd, and vice president, Roy Gates, to a two-year term, attended various workshops geared to inform and inspire, and set dues for the next membership year.

Members also heard an update on current legislative issues including progress achieving overdue cost-of-living benefit adjustment (COLA) for retired educators and other state employees. They acted on several new business items, giving direction to the organization for next year.

Numerous awards were given to individuals and local units including “Volunteer of the Year” award, to Virginia McCarthey, Weatherford. OREA “Special Projects” award went to The Cherokee County Retired Educators Association.

Retired educators in Love and Creek Counties received first-place awards for community service. Cleveland-McClain Counties REA won first-place award for 15,000 hours of volunteer service to community, state, and nation in 2011. Twenty OREA units reported 88,000 hours of volunteer service, representing a value of $2 million.

Attending the statewide convention and business meeting from the Ada area were Charles Barrick, Terry Ford, Judy Hisaw, Vaden Morgan, Mary Scalf, Lanny Sliger, Gerri Stephens, Thomas Stephens and Ruth Ann Taylor.

Thomas Stephens, Ada, was awarded the 2011 Very Important Member (VIM) award representing Pontotoc County.


This Week's Circulars