Ada’s former director of parks and public facilities will take on a new role at City Hall this spring.

Randy McFarlin won the right to represent Ward 3 on the Ada City Council in Tuesday’s primary election. He narrowly defeated incumbent Preston Draper, who was seeking his second term on the board.

McFarlin captured 202 votes, or 52.74 percent of the total, according to unofficial results from the Oklahoma State Election Board. Draper finished with 181 votes, or 47.26 percent of the total.

There were no other candidates in the race.

Councilmen Bryan Morris and Dr. Tre´ Landrum were both unopposed in the primary, so both men will keep their seats on the council. Morris will start his third term representing Ward I, and Landrum will begin his first full term in the at-large seat.

Pontotoc County voters also chose school board representatives on Tuesday. Here’s a roundup of those results:

• Ada City Schools: Incumbents Russ Gurley and Kyle Stuart were both unopposed in their bids for another term.

• Allen Board of Education: Challenger Jami Rinehart defeated incumbent Cindy Davis in the race for  the Office No. 2 slot on the board. Rinehart finished with 64 votes, compared to 33 for Davis.

• Byng Board of Education: Chris McGill was unopposed in his bid for the Office 1, Ward 1 spot on the board. Incumbent Craig Williams, who holds the Office 2, Ward 2 slot, was also unopposed.

• Latta Board of Education: Incumbent Sammy Estes beat challenger Darrell Monroe, 121-55, in the race for the Office 2 position on the board.

• Roff Board of Education: Incumbent Justin Priest did not have an opponent for the Office No. 2 seat.

• Stonewall Board of Education: Incumbents Frank Patton and Windy Dees were unopposed. Patton holds the Office No. 2 seat on the board, and Dees is in the Office No. 5 position.

• Vanoss Board of Education: Incumbent Noralene Groves, who holds the Office No. 2 slot, was unopposed.

• Pontotoc Technology Center: Incumbents Erik Johnson and Mike Casady had no opponents opponents in their bids for another term. Johnson holds the Office 2, Zone 2 slot, and Casady fills the Office 4, Zone 4 position.

• Tupelo School District: Brad Gould defeated Charity Wood-Eidson in the race for the Office 2 slot on the board. Gould finished with 54 votes, while Wood-Eidson had 22.

The Pontotoc County Election Board opened two precincts for the Tupelo Board of Education race in Coal County.