ADA — A runoff election has been announced between two candidates vying for the Chickasaw Nation Legislative position left vacant by the death of Mooniene Ogee.

Ada residents Katie Case received 17.845 percent of the vote (558 votes), while Matthew Morgan received 15.286 percent (478 votes) of the vote.

"I am thrilled and so excited," Case said of the election results. "We're going to go into this runoff working just as hard as we were in the other election. I appreciate everyone's vote and support and I will work to honor that support."

Morgan was unavailable for comment at press time.

According to the Chickasaw Nation office of media relations, the recount period ends this Friday and ballots for the run-off election will be mailed to each qualified voter in the Pontotoc District on Nov. 20. Ballots are to be returned by Dec. 12 and will be counted the same day. The runoff winner will also be announced on Dec. 12.

Thirteen candidates filed for the Pontotoc District, Seat 3 position. According to figures released by the Chickasaw Nation, Melvin Burris received 447 votes, Dr. Debra Vaughn received 283 votes, Jeannie Lunsford received 262 votes, Carolyn Hill Nimmo received 200 votes, Nancy Elliott received 164 votes, Kay Colbert-Hall received 147 votes, Robert Perry received 145 votes, Norma Jean Cravatt-Prince received 125 votes, Russ Stick received 120 votes, Heath Allison received 106 votes and Patricia Greenwood-Cox received 92 votes.

The winning candidate will be sworn into office Monday, Dec. 18 at the Chickasaw Nation Headquarters.