ADA — Chickasaw Nation Election Secretary Rita Loder today announced the results of the special election to fill Pontotoc District Seat 1 of the tribal legislature.

Because none of the candidates received more than 50 percent of the vote, the two top finishers, Mark A. Johnson and Toby Perkins, will meet in a run-off election. Johnson received 27 percent of the votes while Perkins received 20 percent.

Chickasaw Nation Governor Bill Anoatubby called the special election to fill the unexpired term of Holly Easterling, who resigned effective Oct. 14, 2010.

Seven candidates filed for the election. Vote totals for all candidates are included below.

Ballots for the run-off will be mailed Dec. 20 and counted on Jan. 4, 2011. Completed ballots must be returned to the election office by 10:30 a.m. Jan. 4 to be counted.

For more information, call Chickasaw Nation Election Secretary Rita Loder at 1-888-661-0137

Following is a breakdown of votes each candidate received:

Mark A. Johnson received 671 votes - 27 percent

Toby Perkins received 482 votes - 20 percent

Todd Griffith received 425 votes - 17 percent

Mary Ruth Barnes received 369 votes - 15 percent

Kimberly Factor Hazlett received 270 - votes - 11 percent

Heath Allison received 161 votes - 7 percent

Jeremy D. Oliver received 70 votes - 3 percent.


This Week's Circulars