Prime Timers

ADA — Prime Timers met Oct. 17 at 6 p.m. at J.D.’s Cafeteria with Ted Savage, president, presiding.

Twenty-eight members and one guest were present. Guest speaker, Dr. Bill Cole, was welcomed by Savage.

The invocation was given by Dr. Lloyd Briggs. “Happy Birthday” was sung to M.E. Carr and Margaret Sandman who celebrated October birthdays.

The minutes of the Sept. 19 meeting were read and approved and the treasurer’s report was given.

Alba Little and Mary Sue Roberts entertained the group with Burma Shave ads and humorous stories.

Savage introduced Dr. Bill Cole who discussed the importance and goals of Century Cities and the needs of Pontotoc County for the next ten years.

Cole said the Ada Area Chamber of Commerce is the sponsoring agent. Oklahoma Community Institute is the Oklahoma State University organization that has been hired to facilitate the program. Three public forums will be held to help put together a vision through the year 2016.

Cole distributed several surveys which consisted of goals and visions for Pontotoc County in the next century.

The next meeting will be Nov. 21 with Billy and Verna Rice reporting on their trip to China.

Members attending were M.E. and Mary Lou Carr, Norma Roberts, Mary Sue Roberts, Alba Little, Elvin and Sue Jaquess, Ted and Jackie Savage, Peggy Bagley, Andy and Joann Hood, Neal and Patsy Beasley, Paul and Margaret Sandman, Bonnie Shields, Dorothy Weiss, Anita Miller, Wendall and Treva Gurley, Brenda Clark, Duane and Darla Doane, Betty Parham, Lloyd and Mary Ann Briggs and Mae Jo Wagner.

Roff 4-H Club

ROFF — The Roff 4-H Club held its first official meeting in September, electing officers for both its senior and junior clubs. They are as follows:

Senior Club Officers are Sami Jo Scifres, president; LaTisha Miller, vice president; Sarah Burrows, secretary; Kayla Thomas, treasurer; and Monica Miller, reporter.

Junior Club Officers are Shianna Scifres, president; Kendall Sanfon, vice president; Karly Hedges, secretary; Nicole Swallow, treasurer; Lonnie Peterson, reporter; Kaylea Riley, song leader; and Bayleish Vandever, recreation leader.

In October the Roff 4-H Club attended the annual 4-H Achievement Banquet at the OSU Extension Center in Ada. Twelve members received medals for projects completed and seven members received special awards. Sarah Burrows, Christian Eldridge, Mishanna Ellison, Chase Lancester, Johnathan Lucas, Scott Lucus, LaTisha Miller, Monica Miller, Sami Scrifres, Shianna Scifres, Kayla Thomas and Carissa Wells received medals. Sami Scifres and Sarah Burrows also received the peanut award. Kayla Thomas was awarded the citizenship award. Sami Scifres received her 4-H jacket. LaTisha Miller, Monica Miller and Chase Lancaster all received Record Book Awards. Latica Miller received an award for 2006 4-H Princess Candidate.

This Week's Circulars