Retired Educators

ADA — The Oklahoma Retired Educators’ Association honored forty-nine educators from across the state May 19, 2006, at its annual convention held at the University of Central Oklahoma in Edmond.

The honorees are recognized as members of the Association’s VIM (Very Important Member) Project, a state OREA project designed to honor members of local retired teachers associations.

Local units choose their own VIM or VIMs. Honorees will have a brief life story and picture placed in the Oklahoma Archives of the University of Central Oklahoma’s Library and at the Oklahoma Historical Society.

Designation as a VIM is a coveted award, and the stories about members are both interesting and informative, often showing persons who overcame the adversities of the Great Depression days or survived World War II. Some schools attended or taught by VIM members no longer exist, and their biographies may be the only historical record of their existence.

A look at the VIM Roll of Honor would recall many leaders of the past, including past presidents, classroom teachers, principals and school administrators. The VIM Project began in 1990 with nine members. This year there are forty-nine.

The VIM from the Pontotoc County Retired Educators’ Association is Mary Scalf. In PCREA, she has served terms as president, vice president, treasurer, and currently chairs the legislative committee, serves on the calling committee, and assists with the membership drive.

Farm Bureau

ADA — The Southern Region Farm Bureau Women’s Conference was held April 9-12 at Jackson, Miss. Kathryn Floyd, District 8 Women’s state chairman, attended the meeting. There were more than 180 women who attended from the southern region.

There were workshops on team-building and problem-solving. Some of the workshops included “Speak Up and Speak Out,” “Who Says You Can’t Do It?” and “Misconceptions of Agriculture.”

There were 14 members from Oklahoma who attended the conference.


ADA — The CWF/Wimodausis group of First Christian Church met in the fellowship hall June 5. Lynda Simpson, president, welcomed members and opened the meeting with the CWF prayer. A special welcome was extended to the Revs. Vicki and Kevin Crooks. Cares, concerns and celebrations were shared. Refreshments were served by officers.

In the business meeting, the minutes of the May 1 meeting, were read by Mary Scalf, secretary. They were approved as read. Martha Griffin gave the treasurer’s report.

Lorene Hughes, service chairman, reported that cards and handkerchiefs had been mailed to shut-ins for Mother’s Day.

Simpson reported that the CWF Indian Group meeting May 7 was well attended and thanked those who helped with refreshments and decorations.

The budget for 2006-2007 was discussed. A motion was made to change the Leadership Development and Endowment Fund ($50) to Texoma Scholarship Fund. Motion carried.

Blessing Box offerings were received and dedicated. These offerings are sent to Basic Mission Finance for support of missions.

Mary Scalf conducted a ceremony for the installation of officers for 2006-2007. The officers are Lynda Simpson, president; Betty Duty, vice president, Jane Boomhower, treasurer; Mary Scalf, secretary; Mary Jo Taylor, worship/study; Lorene Hughes, service; and Melba King, Georgia Ball, and Jane Boomhower, calling.

Those present were Georgia Ball, Betty Duty, Martha Griffin, Betty Haraway, Lorene Hughes, Derrelyn Metz, Mary Ann Paulsen, Fern Peery, Mary Scalf, Lynda Simpson, Faye Sutton, Mary Jo Taylor, Connie Watson, and the Revs. Vicki and Kevin Crooks.

This Week's Circulars