ADA — Twelve ECU students have been awarded funding under the NASA National Space Grant College and Fellowship Program for the 2006-07 academic year.

Awards are in the form of scholarship and research stipends and range from $350 to $2,000 for the academic year. The program also benefits the students by providing funding for campus and community projects, conference travel and financial assistance.

Recipients of research awards are senior biology majors Carol Bratt of Pauls Valley and Desiree Wright of Smithville.

Recipients of scholarship awards, listed with their majors, are junior James Brown of Cushing, chemistry; senior Leslie Goure of Holdenville, special education; junior Stacy Kipps of Stratford, education; senior Megan Knox of Ardmore, elementary education; senior Sharon Landry of McAlester, accounting; senior Chad Meadows of Altus, cartography and geography; junior Richard Neal of Ada, history; junior Rachael Pattison of Holdenville, biology; junior Amy Simpson of Seminole, special education; and senior Mark Walters of Sulphur, accounting.

The awards are competitive and applications are reviewed by an ECU committee.

Dr. Mark Micozzi, assistant professor of cartography and geography and the institutional representative for ECU, said the awards are not discipline specific and students must meet required criteria.

Essays submitted by applicants must show evidence of creativity, initiative, motivation and other characteristics indicating an applicant's potential as a scholar and contributor to society. In addition, students discuss specific interests and how those interests and their discipline relate to NASA's overall mission.

Students learn that all disciplines find space in NASA's world, Micozzi said.

The National Space Grant Program, mandated by Congress in 1987, consists of state consortia in all 50 states, the District of Columbia and Puerto Rico. Oklahoma is one of the 28 consortia at the "designated level." All carry out programs in education, research and public service.

The Oklahoma Space Grant Consortium includes one lead institution (University of Oklahoma), three charter affiliates (Cameron, Langston and Oklahoma State Universities) and four institutional affiliates (ECU, Southeastern and Southwestern Oklahoma State Universities and Southern Nazarene University).

The Oklahoma consortium also includes three academic affiliates (Applications Engineering Program, Center for Spatial Analysis, K20 Center), three industrial affiliates (The Boeing Company, Frontier Electronic Systems Corp. and CDF Associates Inc.), one city government affiliate (Norman Economic Development Coalition), one state government affiliate (Oklahoma Space Industry Development Authority), and two informal science education affiliates (Kirkpatrick Air and Space Science Museum at Omniplex and STARBASE Oklahoma Inc.)

For more information, contact Micozzi at 580-310-5398 or visit

This Week's Circulars