ADA —Chickasaw Nation Health System recently announced its 2005 Employee of the Year and 2005 Team of the Year at an awards ceremony at Carl Albert Health Facility in Ada.

The award recipients were chosen from a list of monthly winners selected throughout the year. The Employee of the Year award was presented to Durant Clinic Nurse Manager Deb Smith, RN.

According to Chickasaw Nation Health System Customer Relations Director Debbie Jackson, Deb Smith “does a tremendous job in assisting the providers and staff and in working with the patients. She is always kind, compassionate and willing to go the extra mile to help someone in need.”

“Deb also works with the difficult and stressful situations that we all must go through at times, but she handles each situation with professionalism, dignity and grace,” Jackson added. “I have certainly appreciated her assistance many times in the past with situations, and always found her to be friendly and helpful.”

The Team of the Year award was presented to the Carl Albert Medical/Surgical Unit Nursing Staff.

In a letter sent to the hospital administer, the writer stated, “We just wanted to let you know that the Med/Surgery staff was just excellent. These nurses and nurse aides that had our family member as their patient were very polite, caring and thoughtful ladies. We were all so very impressed with their caring attitudes.”

The letter continued, “I know a lot of people would say that it was just part of their job, but we feel they went beyond that. They made what turned out to be our last time with our family member comforting (by) all the kindness they showed us. This (letter) is just one way we can express our thanks to them by letting their administrator know. You should be very proud that this hospital has (this) kind of employees.”

“Jackson added, “This letter said everything about our great nursing staff.”

Other Employee of the Year nominees included the following:

4 Lea Caufield – Diabetes Center

4 Ronnie Fondren – Clinical Applications

4 Tawni Gibson – Dietary Services

4 Neva Harjochee – Nutrition Services

4 Vivian Herr – Utilization Management

4 Penny Isham – Housekeeping

4 Richard Roland – Carl Albert Maintenance

4 Debbie Sanford, RN – Emergency Room

4 Miranda Seal – Audiology

4 Dr. Tonie Waller – Carl Albert Dental

4 Joni Wellington, RN – Utilization Management

Other Team of the Year nominees included:

4 Carl Albert Maintenance

4 Carl Albert Radiology

4 Carl Albert Volunteers

4 Family Practice Clinic Laboratory

4 Health Information Management Coders

4 Infection Control

4 NARCH (Native American Research Centers for Health)

4 Tishomingo Health Clinic Pharmacy