ADA — Forty-eight East Central University students were inducted into ECU's chapter of Alpha Chi national honor society this spring, pinned by an influential faculty member each student selected for the candlelight ceremony.

Students were inducted by sponsor Dr. Trisha Yarbrough and co-sponsors Dr. John Yozzo, Dr. Susan Payne, Dr. Anne Davis and Dr. Pat Fountain. Attendees honored Lynn Davison, ECU student delegate, on her election as student representative to the national council.

To be eligible for Alpha Chi, students must be in the top 10 percent of the junior or senior class with a minimum grade point average of 3.5. The objectives of Alpha Chi are to promote and recognize superior scholarship and those elements of character that make scholarship effective for service.

The society, founded in 1922, has about 300 chapters in 45 states, the District of Columbia and Puerto Rico and represents the highest academic honor on any member campus.

Area students selected for membership include Kenneth W. Bailes II, Michal Beauchamp, Sharon Cunningham, Sonya Hensley, Donna M. Hoehman, Angela Dawn Ingram, Markia A. Matthews, Kandice Robertson and Jeremy S. Wood, all of Ada; James C. Bierce and Sarah Ann Francois, Fittstown; and Charity Dawn Holder, Coalgate.

Others are Amanda J. Brewer, Milburn; Robin L. Bowen and Jennifer Brenholtz, Pauls Valley; Amanda Lenora and Cheryld Lynne Lucas, Seminole; Stacy Kipps, Stratford; Tamara Jennings, Sulphur; Renee Linn, Asher; Jared Brent Stewart, Wewoka; and Lea Beth Boles, Rosedale.

Also inducted were Lisa L. Reich, McAlester; Cynthia Leann Bryant, Krebs; Cynthia M. Keiser, Tecumseh; Kristi Nicole Daniel and Debra L. Spoon, Shawnee; Katie Burden, Weleetka; Blaire Battles, McLoud; LaRanda Skaggs, Maud; Robyn L. Tillery, Lamar; Elizabeth Grace Birdsong, Lane; Brittany L. Jones, Ardmore; and Geri G. Aman, Springer.

Also, Kasey L. Hardy, Lone Grove; Lindsey Pruitt, Bokchito; Desiree D. Wright, Smithville; Mallory Skye Reynolds, Maysville; Heather N. Koepp, Purcell; Jamie Knapp, Oklahoma City; James E. Brown, Cushing; Kendra L. Enerson, Glenpool; Kendal Hasty, Sand Springs; Alecia Owens, Mounds; Faye Meadows, Tahlequah; and Chad A. Meadows, Altus.