Members of the Flute Ensemble performing in the Instrumental Ensembles Concert Thursday at East Central University are Elizabeth Negrete (from left), Kristin Stecklein, Deborah Allen, Ashley Branscum, Sarra Blok, Sarah Norred, Rebekah Unruh, Danna Howry, Kristen Auten and Molly Hodges with director Juliana Overmeir.

AdaEveningNews.com - Ada, Oklahoma

ADA — An Instrumental Ensembles Concert will be performed by East Central University’s Flute, Clarinet and Brass Ensembles at 7:30 p.m. Thursday in the Dorothy Summers Theatre. Admission is free.

Many different flutes will be heard, including the alto flute, bass flute and piccolo.

The Flute Ensemble will perform “The Harmonious Blacksmith” by G.F. Handel, “Caderas” by Michael Coolen and two movements of “Falconer” by Catherine McMichael.

The Clarinet Ensemble will perform three selections by J.S. Bach and “Allegretto” from F.J. Haydn’s “Symphony No. 100.”

The Brass Ensemble will perform “A Centennial Fanfare” by John Zdechlik, “Irish Tune from County Derry” by Percy Grainger, “Two Pieces” by William Brade, “On a Hymnsong of Philip Bliss” by David Holsinger and “Gilliard Battaglia” by Samuel Scheidt.

The Flute Choir, directed by Juliana Overmeir, includes Debbie Allen, Danna Howry and Sarah Norred of Ada; Kristen Auten and Rebekah Unruh of Ardmore; Sarra Blok of Glencoe; Ashley Branscum of Checotah; Molly Hodges of Edmond; Elizabeth Negrete of Madill; and Kristin Stecklein of Vinita, with guest percussionist Andrew Orr of Oklahoma City.

The Clarinet Ensemble, directed by Michael Whitmore, includes Kathryn Burns, Coalgate; Becky Butler, Brittany Cupps, Jacob Jones, Jim Robbins, Amity Taylor and Chris Van Horn, all of Ada; Kayla Franco and Nathaniel Sheeley, Owasso; Ashton Graham and Katie Zeier, Seminole; Jessica Hall, Oklahoma City; Jennifer Kimbro and Rebekah Robertson, Wynnewood; Shayla Sams, Beggs; Jessica Townsend, Konawa; and Samantha Tyler, McAlester.

The Brass Ensemble, directed by Frank Zugelder, includes (trumpet) Matt Chandler and Derek Walker of Oklahoma City, Stephen McClesky of Ardmore, James Monroe of Ada, Ashley Robertson of Pauls Valley, Matt Stephens of Moore and J. R. Wolf of Oklahoma City; and (horn) Derek Akers of Sulphur, Katie Anderson of Piedmont; and Riley Robertson of Moore.

Others are (trombone) Zach Hopper of Beggs, Darryl Mosier of Ada and Lindsey Sargent of Edmond; (euphonium) Justin Cody and Tommy Long, Tecumseh; (tuba) Joseph Dahl, Walters, and Cody Rowe, Oklahoma City; and (guest percussion) Kyle Littlejohn of Wilburton, Kelsey Creed of Ada and Andrew Orr of Oklahoma City.