Delta Kappa Gamma

ADA — New officers for Delta Kappa Gamma were installed in a candlelight ceremony held May 6 at the Aldridge Ballroom. Each incoming officer was presented with a red rose by the corresponding outgoing officer. The new officers are: Susie Stevens, president; Harriet Weber, first vice president; Kathleen Lehman, second vice president; Donna Large, corresponding secretary; Mary Scalf, treasurer; and Linda Marks, parliamentarian. After the installation, the group sang the official Delta Kappa Gamma song and members recited the pledge of commitment.

Linda Wilson gave the invocation, and after breakfast, Linda Marks, president, called the business meeting to order.

Harriet Weber led the nineteen members present in reciting the mission statement.

Jane Dupy, treasurer, called the roll and gave the treasurer’s report.

Betty Mitchell read a note from Julia Henson, Sigma Chapter president, thanking Rho Chapter for hosting the joint 65th birthday luncheon in April.

Marks gave the president’s report as follows:

State Sen. Susan Paddack, Ada, has been recommended by the executive board for honorary membership in Rho Chapter Delta Kappa Gamma International, and she will be installed next fall if she accepts membership.

Kim Henry, First Lady of Oklahoma, and Brigadier General Larita A. Aragon, former assistant to the Commander, Air Education and Training Command, were invited into Gamma State membership as honorary members.

Noralene Groves and Linda Wilson were recognized for serving on Gamma State committees.

Members were reminded that Laquita Semmier, Mustang, wanted chapters to consider making a PowerPoint presentation for Gamma State Convention in 2007. A suggestion was also made that a PowerPoint presentation might be put on the Rho Chapter website.

Sue Jaquess made a motion that State Convention hotel room expenses for June 2 plus the cost of the birthday luncheon and the Founder’s/President’s Banquet June 3, be paid for Linda Marks, president, and Susie Stevens, president-elect. The motion was seconded by Becky Hill, an members approved it.

Several members made cash donations for baskets to be taken to the State Conventions to be auctioned off.

Susie Stevens, membership chairperson, reported that five individuals had been recommended for membership in Rho Chapter. The nominees were Margie Blake, Sulphur; Linda Morrison, Paula Kedy, Kay Gamble Faulkner, all of Ada Ada; and Brenda Joyce “B. J.” Smith, Byng. All five nominees were approved for membership by those members present.

Linda Wilson led the group in singing a fun song, Welcome Spring.

Members having birthdays in May through August were recognized and gifts were available for each. Those having birthdays were Cindy Byrd, Renee Burris, Edna Mae Cooley, Linda Embry, Dorotha Fenton, Lisa Fulton, Estella Hottel, Kathleen Lehman, Janet Tidwell, Marie Wilson, Jane Dupy, Judith Caton, Jill Brown, Jane Gray, Jo Ann Hefley, Linda Marks, Rita Scott and Patsy West.

Those winning door prizes were Estella Hottel, Judy Hanson, Beverly Rambo, Edna Mae Cooley and Becky Hill.

Hostesses for the May meeting were members of the World Fellowship and Music Committees.

Happy Elders

ADA — The Happy Elders of Asbury United Methodist Church met Tuesday, June 12, for a covered-dish luncheon at the Family Life Center.

Joe Jared offered the prayer. Those attending were Orval Ballard, Lorene Ballard, Glenna Hunt, Mary Murray, Nancy Phillips, Lattie Jones, Ethel Jones, Margaret Dean, Jody Jared, Joyce Jared, Liz Chandler, Marjorie Sneed, Paul Landrith, Charlotte Landrith, Barbara Walters, Carol Reich, Merle Ballard, Eddy Ballard, Burl Webb, Dru Webb and David Walters.

This Week's Circulars