ADA — A concert in memory of Dr. Dennis Boe, a pianist and professor of music at East Central University who died unexpectedly last November, will be presented today by the University Chorale and University Chorus.

The concert, featuring a piece by W.T. Sky Garcia and two anthems by Victoria Davison, both of Ada, will begin at 7:30 p.m. at St. Joseph Catholic Church with Dr. Steven Walker as conductor. Accompanists will be Dr. Starla Hibler, piano; Rudy Lupinski, organ and piano; and Dr. Mark Hollingsworth, clarinet.

Garcia composed "At Rest" as a memorial to Boe, adapting a poem written by his wife, ECU staff member Sarah Garcia, that talks about being folded in the Lord's love and being at peace, with no more tears, last looks or parting ways.

Davison's anthems are "A New Command: Love One Another," with lyrics adapted from John 13:34 and John 14:1, and "Walk in Love."

The University Chorale will perform those composers' works as well as Mozart's "Regina Coeli," "Caritas et Amor" by Z. Randall Stroope and "The Beatitudes" by Arvo Pärt.

The University Chorus will perform "Jerusalem" by Gregg Smith, "At the River," adapted by Aaron Copland, and "We Beheld Once Again the Stars" by Z. Randall Stroope.

Boe often accompanied choral groups and vocal and instrumental music faculty members and performed for numerous university and community events. He came to ECU in 1982 and had been director of ECU's Scholastic Honors Program since 1989.

He held leadership roles in the Great Plains Honors Association, becoming its president in 1999, and coordinated ECU's participation in the Oklahoma Research and Leadership Enrichment Program.

Boe also had been chairman of the Ada Library Board, a member of the Ada Arts and Heritage Council and a Boy Scout leader and began the Ada Library Book Drive with the Boy Scouts and ECU honors students.

Performing with both the Chorale and the Chorus are Molly Bonar and Brittany Trail, Ada; Jesse Gordon, Seminole; Jaime Jones, Sulphur; LaHanna Ladd and Rachael Rounsaville, Tishomingo; Nikita Davis, Purcell; Chris Hopper, Ardmore; Jason Oss, McAlester; and Chris Geisler, Little Axe.

Others in both groups are Phillip Berryhill, Wetumka; Crystal Johnson and Sharon Olds, Wellston; Catie Parker, Sapulpa; Mary Beth Richardson, Edmond; Michelle Williams, Eufaula; and Wiley Winters, Wynnewood.

Performing only with the Chorale are Victoria Davison, Rudy Lupinski and Jarrod Presley, all of Ada.

Students singing only in the Chorus are Natasha Estep, Krista Hatter and Brooke Trail, Ada; Kenny Antwine, Ardmore; Bailey Freeman, Justin Jack, David Milam and Kevin Wilkins, Bethel; Arvell Alexander, Bristow; Noelle Striblen, Checotah; Tim Garrett, Chouteau; Amanda Stevens, Coalgate; Villette Linstead, Eufaula; Luke Smith, Holdenville; Daniel Baker, Lexington; and Katy Fentem, Lindsay.

Others are Amanda Heathcock and Misty Whorton, McAlester; Stephanie Goodwin, Midwest City; Brooke Haygood, Norman; Matt Chandler, Oklahoma City; Kendal Hasty, Sand Springs; Sherri Scott, Sapulpa; Marcie Campbell, Adam Forgety and Christopher Wilson, Seminole; Desiree Wright, Smithville; Sarah Carpenter, Turner; Marian Berryhill, Wetumka; Amanda Tarver, Chandler, Ariz.; Quinton Roberts, Stuttgart, Germany; Angie Brunk, ECU faculty member; and ECU graduates Matt Kaspereit, Ralph Wangler and Karah-Marie Thompson.

This Week's Circulars