Johnson, Cliff C.jpg

Cliff Johnson, Superintendent of Latta Public Schools, has been named District 17 Superintendent of the Year by the Oklahoma Association of School Administrators (OASA). Johnson is one of 20 superintendents in Oklahoma selected for this honor, Steven Crawford, executive director of OASA/CCOSA, announced.

Johnson, along with the other 19 superintendent finalists from across the state, will be honored at the OASA awards banquet June 9 during the Annual Summer Conference hosted by the Cooperative Council for Oklahoma School Administration (CCOSA). The conference will be held June 9-11 at the Meridian Convention Center in Oklahoma City.

“These administrators are chosen because of their professionalism, high expectations of students and staff, leadership skills, contributions to their school district and profession; and an active and respected role in the community,” Steven Crawford said. “We congratulate Superintendent Johnson for being selected by his colleagues for his service and accomplishments in the profession.”

Johnson, who has 25 years of experience in education, has been superintendent of Latta Public Schools for the past ten years.  Before coming to Latta in 2000, he was superintendent of Sharon-Mutual Public Schools for two years.  Other administrative experience includes high school principal, athletic director, and technology director for five years at Coyle Public Schools, and secondary principal at Granite Public Schools for one year.  He has taught and coached in two school districts, Coyle and Tyrone. He began his career as a teacher in Tyrone in 1985.

The superintendent is a member of several professional organizations including Cooperative Council Oklahoma School Administration, Oklahoma Association of School Administrators,

and Oklahoma Association of School Business Officials.

The 20 District Oklahoma Superintendents of the Year are now eligible for the 2010 Oklahoma Superintendent of the Year competition.  The selection of the state winner will be announced at the summer conference at the first general session on June 10.


This Week's Circulars