Chickasaw Nation Election Secretary Rita Loder announced the results of the 2010 tribal election July 27.

Legislators Mary Jo Green and Linda Briggs won reelection while a runoff election will be required for Panola District, Seat 1.

Incumbent Beth Alexander, Achille, will face Beryl F. Sears, Hendrix, in a runoff election for the Panola District seat. 

Green, Ada, was reelected to Pontotoc District, Seat 5. With 62 percent of the votes, she defeated challengers Mark Johnson, Ada, and Todd Griffith, Newcastle.

In the Pickens District, Seat 3, race, Briggs, Marietta, retained her seat with 61 percent of votes. She was challenged by Mike Watson, Ardmore, and Daniel Worcester, Ardmore.

Tishomingo District, Seat 2 incumbent legislator Timothy K. Colbert of Sulphur was unchallenged.

Sitting Chickasaw Nation Justice Mr. Colbert, Ardmore, received 71 percent of the votes. He was challenged by Jeremy D. Oliver, Wynnewood.

Ballots for the runoff election will be mailed to Panola District voters Aug. 16 and will be due back to the election secretary by 10:30 a.m., Aug. 31.

Elected officials will take the oath of office 11 a.m., Friday, Oct. 1.

Incumbent Supreme Court Justice Mark Holmes Colbert retained his seat.

For more information, call Loder at (888) 661-0137.

This Week's Circulars