Chickasaw Nation Election Secretary Rita Loder announced that seven candidates had filed for the special election to fill Pontotoc District Seat 1 of the tribal legislature by the 4:30 p.m. Oct. 29 filing deadline.

Winner of the special election will fill the unexpired term of Holly Easterling, who resigned Oct. 14.

The term expires Sept. 30, 2012.

Candidates filing for the post are Mary Ruth Barnes, Fitzhugh; Jeremy D. Oliver, Wynnewood; Kimberly Factor, Purcell; Todd Griffith, Newcastle; and Ada residents Mark A. Johnson, Toby Perkins and Heath Allison.

Registered Chickasaw voters will vote by mail ballots. Ballots will be mailed to qualified voters November 22, 2010.

Ballots must be returned to the Chickasaw Nation Election Commission no later than 10:30 a.m. on December 7, 2010.  No hand delivered ballots will be accepted.

The Chickasaw Nation Election Commission shall conduct and supervise the ballot counting beginning at 11 a.m. December 7, 2010, at the Chickasaw Community Center in Ada. Results of the elections shall be announced the same day.

A run-off election will be held if no candidate receives more than 50 percent of the vote.

If a run-off election is necessary, ballots will be mailed to qualified voters Dec. 20.

For more information, contact Ms. Loder at 1-888-661-0137.

This Week's Circulars