The Daughters of the American Revolution Chimney Hill Chapter met on Feb. 11 at 1:30 p.m. at the Ada Arts and Heritage Center.

The opening ritual was led by Regent Dana Hill and Chaplain Jessie Glover.  Elizabeth Witherow led the Pledge of Allegiance, Mary Pfeffer led "The American’s Creed," and "The Star Spangled Banner" was led by Ruth Ann Taylor.

Regent Dana Hill gave the message from President General Lynn Forney Young. There was a record growth in membership and in community service hours in 2013.  The goal for community service in the Young administration is 10,000,000 hours.

The minutes of the previous meeting, by Mary Scalf, were approved as read. Joyce Gentry gave the treasurer’s report.  

For the national defense report, Elizabeth Witherow gave information about the minimum requirements to join the military and how specific jobs are assigned.        

Kathy Howry, Membership Committee, reported that Oma Waters and Ruth Franks have been verified for membership. Also, in 2013 there were 13,906 new members nationally and 13 new members for the Chimney Hill Chapter. 

For the Indian Minute, Mary Pfeffer reported that the Navajo Nation Council has approved a tax on junk food in an effort to promote healthy living and combat diabetes.

Suzanne McFarlane, Conservation Committee, told of a new Boy Scout merit badge that promotes conservation.

Ruth Ann Taylor, Veterans Committee, reported that valentines will be delivered to our six adopted veterans at the Sulphur Veterans Center.  

Elaine Bearden, American History Committee chairman, named the winners of the American history essay contest:  Aislinn Beak, seventh grade; Lauren John, sixth grade; Elizabeth Acree, fifth grade; Anna Mae Palmer, fifth grade (honorable mention); and Ovviyaa Ramakrishnan, fifth grade (honorable mention).  

The topic for the essays was “The Lives of Children During the American Revolution,” and Aislinn, Lauren, Elizabeth, and Anna Mae were present to read their essays.  

Regent Hill stated that our chapter qualifies for five delegates to the state conference, and names of delegates must be submitted to receive credentials.

Hostesses for the meeting were Nyta Ballard, Tommie Beddow, Jean Lyon, Sandra Mantooth and Derrelyn Metz.

The door prize was won by Jean Kelley.

The next meeting is Tuesday, March 11, at 1:30 p.m. at the Ada Arts and Heritage Center.

Members attending were Betty Allred, Nyta Ballard, Elaine Bearden, Tommie Beddow, Ruth Franks, Shelly Gaines, Joyce Gentry, Jessie Glover, Arletta Good, Martha Griffin, Dana Hill, Lorraine Hooker, Kathy Howry, Jean Kelley, Judy Kurz, Julie Luke, Jean Lyon, Sandra Mantooth, Suzanne McFarlane, Marian Paniagua, Mary Pfeffer, Mary Scalf, Ruth Ann Taylor and Elizabeth Witherow.  Guests were  Carol Meyer, Gina Brown, LaDonna Brown, Elizabeth Acree, Jill Acree, Anna Mae Palmer, Mary Smith, Susan Alexander, Aislinn Beak, Stephanie Beak, Lauren John, Lisa John and Thomas John.


This Week's Circulars