- Ada, Oklahoma

April 30, 2014

East Central athletes honored at annual awards banquet

Ada — The East Central University Department of Athletics honored its 2013-14 student-athletes at the annual Athletics Award Banquet Monday night at the Chickasaw Business & Conference Center.

The top awards for the year, Male and Female Scholar-Athlete of the Year, went to men’s tennis senior Julian Caminos and soccer junior Margaret Glutz.

“The Scholar-Athlete of the Year award is the highest recognition we bestow upon an ECU student-athlete,” said Director of Athletics Dr. Jeff Williams. “Honorees demonstrate their success as a student and as an athlete. Not only do we see irrefutable signs of their success within Tiger athletics, but many times honorees are recognized by constituents within the ECU community, the Ada community, the Great American Conference, CoSIDA, coaches associations and the NCAA. To win a Scholar-Athlete of the Year award is the embodiment of what being an NCAA student-athlete is all about.”

Caminos will graduate in May with a degree in sociology and has a 3.62 GPA, having spent all four seasons with the Tigers. The Buenos Aires, Argentina, native was also named the men’s tennis Most Valuable Player. Caminos helped ECU to three straight runner-up finishes in the Great American Conference Tournaments. As a senior, he led the team with a 13-4 singles record at No. 3 singles and added a 7-13 doubles record with fellow senior Andrew Cabato at No. 1 doubles. He was honored as an All-GAC First Team pick in 2012 as a sophomore.

Glutz is an elementary education major with a 3.88 GPA and has been honored as an All-GAC First Team selection for all three seasons in an orange and black uniform. The Mansfield, Texas, native has also been honored as the GAC Freshman of the Year and a National Soccer Coaches Association of America All-Region Third Team pick in 2011. A member of the Lady Tigers defense, she started all 17 matches in 2013 and was named to the GAC All-Tournament team for the second straight season.

This season, the ECU baseball team added a new award in memory of Chris Lane. The award will be presented to a baseball player who shows what it truly means to be a Tiger — dedication, hard work, a positive attitude and team work —  all characteristics that Chris Lane exemplified. The inaugural award was presented to the five players who knew Chris the best: seniors Robert Buitrago, Ethan Gold, Levi Keeton, Josh Lavender and Michael Mariano.

Athletics also honored a member of the ECU staff who has been a great supporter of athletics. Jerry Meek was given a Special Recognition Award for his dedication to the teams in his role as bus driver. Jerry and his wife, Aileen, have spent several years driving the teams to their road competitions.  But they are also some of the biggest supporters of those teams on the road and at home.  

“Tiger Athletics is only as successful as the commitment to excellence displayed daily in everything we do. Taking our teams on the road to play and then returning them safely is a passion for Jerry and Aileen Meek,” commented Williams.  “Their dedication to Tiger Athletics is paramount to our continued success, and we thank them for the care and support they continually give ‘their kids.' We felt it appropriate to publicly recognize Jerry and Aileen by letting them know how much they impact the Tiger family.” 

You can always pick Jerry and Aileen out of the crowd as some of the loudest orange-clad fans. his season the GAC also took notice, interviewing Jerry during a timeout at the GAC Volleyball Tournament and calling him the first and loudest ECU fan in the building.


Following is a complete list of the awards and the 60 student-athletes who will graduate next month or after the summer session:

Jerry Anderson Award (graduating senior in kinesiology) – ReGina Germaine (women’s cross country)

Women’s soccer

Most Outstanding Offensive Player – Kourtney Holleman

Most Outstanding Defensive Player – Susana Galvez

Women’s Cross Country

Most Outstanding Runner – ReGina Germaine

Freshman of the Year – Jennifer Swart

Men’s Cross Country

Most Outstanding Runner – William Baldwin

Freshman of the Year – Bruce Bragg


Most Outstanding Offensive Lineman – Travis Henning

Most Outstanding Offensive Specialist – Caleb Holley

Most Outstanding Defensive Lineman – Alex King

Most Outstanding Defensive Specialist – Fred Gaines

Most Valuable Player – Caleb Holley


Offensive and Defensive Player of the Year – Danielle Essix

Women’s Basketball

Offensive Player of the Year – Ashley Robison

Defensive Player of the Year – Alycea Price

Lady Tiger Player’s Choice Award – Alex Tucker

Men’s Basketball

Wayne Cob Award – Henry Pwono

Tiger Award – Chris Fisher


Most Valuable Player – Gina Mengwasser

Player’s Choice Award – Samantha McGraw


Ken Turner Award (Overall excellence) – Robert Buitrago

Waner Award (Overall team commitment) – Ethan Gold

Chris Lane “Tiger” Award – Robert Buitrago, Ethan Gold, Levi Keeton, Josh Lavender, Michael Mariano

Men’s Golf

Player of the Year – Jason Goben

Most Dedicated Player – Jed Williams

Women’s Golf

Player of the Year – Molli Taylor

Most Dedicated Player – Sarah Delong

Men’s Tennis

Most Valuable Player – Julian Caminos

Women’s Tennis

Most Valuable Player – Agostina Moran


Cheer Most Improved – Ashia Hillman

Cheer Leadership Award – Layne Forshee

Pom Leadership Award – Georgiana Hallock

Strength & Conditioning

Female Strength Athlete of the Year – Lacey Williams (Softball)

Male Strength Athlete of the Year – Dezmon Jackson (Football)

Athletic Training

Junior ATEP Student of the Year – Manuel Pena

Senior ATEP Student of the Year – Britni Baxter

Male Scholar-Athlete of the Year – Julian Caminos (Men’s Tennis)

Female Scholar-Athlete of the Year – Margaret Glutz (Soccer)

2013-14 Graduating Seniors

Baseball – Robert Buitrago, Ethan Gold, Levi Keeton, Josh Lavender, Michael Mariano

Women’s Basketball – Alycea Price, Ashley Robison, Ashlyn Stafford, Alex Tucker

Men’s Basketball – Shaq Burrell, Colby Carr, Chris Fisher, Chris Lee, Miles Mitchell

Men’s Cross Country – Viktors Slesarenoks

Men’s Golf – Travis Arnold, Travis Keeley, Brandon Nicholson, Jed Williams

Women’s Golf – Megan Dutton

Football – Lindsey Anderson, Ken Berry, Austin Crisler, JJ Farrell, Fred Gaines, Laquan Harper, Caleb Holley, Alex King, Stephen Mapp, Cody Nall, Bryant Newell, TJ Peek, Charles Ramsey, George Robbins, Lamares Shields, Talon Starkey, Reuben Tiller, Justin Todd

Student Athletic Trainers – Britni Baxter, Kassi Coffey, Brittany Crenshaw, Tory Grose, Evan Heath, Garrett Kizzia, Ross Tucker

Soccer – Ashley Bradford, Stephanie Flores, Susana Galvez, Katelynn Harper

Softball – Gina Mengwasser, Tarra Underhill-Christy

Men’s Tennis – Alec Bawcum, Andrew Cabato, Julian Caminos

Women’s Tennis – Agostina Moran

Volleyball – Taylor Brown, Danielle Essix, Kennedy Riley, Ashley Williams, Jessica Wilkinson