- Ada, Oklahoma

Local Sports

July 31, 2013

Another new OCRS winner at OSP


Oil Center —

 The restart lineup saw Mattox, who was celebrating his 21st birthday, on top followed by Sellers, and then the lapped cars of Chuck Bellefeuille and Michael Tyre with the third-place car of Casey Wills next, then Chance Morton and Waddell. Back under way, Sellers made a charge to take the top spot, but Mattox refused to relinquish the point. Danny Smith would work his way to sixth behind Waddell, and White would begin to make her presence known at this point, moving in behind Smith.

White would get around Smith on lap 16. Back up front, the leaders were staring down lap traffic for another time. On the 21st lap, it became doomsday for Mattox. Entering turns three and four, Mattox got caught up with a lapped car and tuned over, bringing out the second red flag of the race. 

Mattox, who lost a race at the local dirt track when he turned over just 25 yards from the finish line in September 2011, was OK but obviously highly disappointed that he wasn’t able to provide himself the birthday present he set out to get. 

This would put Sellers on the point for a five-lap shootout with Wills second, followed by Morton, Waddell, White (up from 10th), Smith, Owens and Kent. 

On the restart, it was White who really went to work, as she shot by Waddell coming out of turn two and immediately went by Morton as well to move into third place. Smith and Owens would each work their way past Waddell as well.

Coming down for the white flag lap, White swept past Wills for the runner-up spot, and she would retain that spot as Sellers would cross the line for the win the next time by. Wills held on for third, with Morton, Smith, Owens, Waddell, Sheldon Barksdale, Kent and Alex DeCamp rounding out the Top 10.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Local Sports