- Ada, Oklahoma

Local Sports

May 14, 2014

Owens repeats as Harlod Leep Jr. winner

Oil Center — Gary Owens of Pauls Valley won the Sixth Annual Harold Leep Jr. Memorial Saturday night at the Oklahoma Sports Park in the first of three Oil Capital Racing Series stops at the local dirt track in 2014. 

The win makes the second year in a row Owens had captured the HLJ memorial race.

Owens started on the outside front row in his Glen Owens Sand and Gravel/Fields Pecan Pie/Eagle sprinter and bolted straight into the lead from the very beginning, with pole position starter Derek Cottrell giving chase. They were followed by Fred Mattox. 

On lap number six, Owens was working to get around lapped traffic coming out of turn four and made contact on the front stretch with Dan Schnackenberg, who then careened to the right and hit Perry Pickard, who was working back towards the center of the track after getting high in turn four. The result of the fracas was Pickard stopping on the racing surface to bring out a yellow flag. Pickard would retire pitside.

On the restart, Kyle Cobb, who earlier in the evening was the Bob Hurley Auto Family heat race winner, came into contact with other cars and found himself sitting dead on the track facing the opposite direction in front of the flag stand, necessitating a yellow. Cobb and Sheldon Barksdale and Fred Mattox, who had their own woes, would each retire to the pits.

Owens would restart the field followed by the cars of Cottrell, Shane Sellers, AmeriFlex Hose & Accessories heat winner Andrew Deal and Kyle Clark. Owens would quickly open up a six-car length lead within a couple of laps, while the others would battle for position. Chance Morton would get by Clark for fifth, and Sellers would overtake Cottrell going into turn one on the 10th lap. 

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Local Sports