- Ada, Oklahoma

Local News

February 19, 2014

Eagle scouts to be honored

Ada — Eight Scouts from Troop 4, Ada, are among the scouts in the 2013 Class of Eagles that will be honored at the Arbuckle Area Council Annual Banquet Friday night.  

The annual event, held  this year at the Artesian Hotel in Sulphur,  traditionally recognizes Boy Scouts from throughout the council who have earned the coveted Eagle Rank in Scouting.  

Josh Eager is the son of Jud and Dawn Harris and Chase Eager.  His Eagle service project was leading the  construction of a fire danger warning sign for the Fittstown Volunteer  Fire Department.

Aaron Frerichs attends school at Meeker, Oklahoma.  His parents are Darrell and Sue Ellen (McFarlane) Frerichs.  His Eagle service project was the construction of improvements to the playground at Emmanuel Episcopal Church, his home church in Shawnee.

Charlie Hansen, the son of Robin (Linker) Hansen and the late Bruce Hansen, organized the food inventory for Matthew 25, a food distribution program at St. Luke’s Episcopal Church.

Sidney Hysten is the son of Duane and Aretha Hysten.    He chose to lead a crew of helpers in a cleaning day for the First Christian Church, home of his Scout troop.

Brandon Lemons is the son of Mike and Casey Lemons.  A cleaning day at the Calvary Pentecostal Holiness Church was his Eagle service project.

Todd Penick, son of Georgette Penick, has been a referee for the Ada Boys and Girls Club soccer program and saw a need for benches at the Boys and Girls Club.  The construction of two benches at the soccer field was his Eagle service project.

Nick Phillips, the son of Robert and Jennifer Phillips, recruited a group of friends and fellow Scouts to help him inventory food and assist in the food distribution for St. Luke’s Episcopal Church for three months.

Karsten Thompson is the son of Karah Thompson and grandson of Greta Thompson and the late Charles Thompson. As an active member of the youth program at First Presbyterian Church, Karsten recruited a team to help him repair the surface and paint parking stripes in the parking lot of his church home.

The scouts received their Eagle Award in a ceremony at the First Christian Church on Sunday, Aug. 8, 2013.  Scoutmaster of Troop 4 is Angus McFarlane.  Members of the Eagle Presentation Team were James Tillison, Easton Bruegel, Adam Piepke, Edward Sallee, Matthew Sellars,  and Andrew Sneed.  Vocalist was Will Rauch.


Text Only | Photo Reprints
Local News
AP Video
13 Struck by Lightning on Calif. Beach Baseball Hall of Famers Inducted Israel, Hamas Trade Fire Despite Truce in Gaza Italy's Nibali Set to Win First Tour De France Raw: Shipwrecked Concordia Completes Last Voyage Raw: Sea Turtle Hatchlings Emerge From Nest Raw: Massive Dust Storm Covers Phoenix 12-hour Cease-fire in Gaza Fighting Begins Raw: Bolivian Dancers Attempt to Break Record Raw: Israel, Palestine Supporters Rally in US Raw: Air Algerie Flight 5017 Wreckage Virginia Governor Tours Tornado Aftermath Judge Faces Heat Over Offer to Help Migrant Kids Kangaroo Goes Missing in Oklahoma More M17 Bodies Return, Sanctions on Russia Grow Raw: Deadly Tornado Hits Virginia Campground Ohio State Marching Band Chief Fired After Probe Raw: Big Rig Stuck in Illinois Swamp

Are you pleased that Oklahoma has repealed Common Core standards for public school students?

     View Results