- Ada, Oklahoma

May 10, 2013

ECU's Alpha Chi honored as star chapter

Ada —

The East Central University chapter of the Alpha Chi National College Honor Society was recently named a Star Chapter for the 2011-12 academic year.

 Alpha Chi is comprised of the top 10 percent of juniors and seniors at ECU. In addition to individual standards, Alpha Chi members must meet group requirements to be recognized as a Star Chapter.

Among the requirements for becoming a Star Chapter, groups must send at least one sponsor and one student member to the annual convention and at least one of those students must present research during the event.

ECU Alpha Chi President Blake Scott, a senior biology major from Newcastle, says he has benefited greatly from Alpha Chi.

“The opportunity to serve with Alpha Chi has been a rich experience. This organization has allowed me to present my research at the national level and has allowed many other students the same,” said Scott. “Alpha Chi has fostered in me a greater sense of academic responsibility and curiosity.”

After graduation, Scott will enter the John Hopkins School of Medicine.

Twelve students from ECU’s Alpha Chi chapter attended the national convention in Nashville in early April and presented a research project.

The 12 delegates from the ECU Alpha Chi chapter included Angele Tull, a senior psychology major from Ada; Tamra Albritton, a senior legal studies major from Ada; Brandy Baldwin, a junior history major from Wynnewood; Krishna Bhattarai, a senior biology major from Ada; Ashley Cardwell, a senior math major from Mustang; Nikki Dickerson, a senior biology major from Mustang; Meagon Eagon, a junior legal studies major from Ada; Sarah Nelson, a junior legal studies major from Tahlequah; Josh Smith, a senior chemistry major from Ada; Cody Soden, a senior psychology major from Ada; Jessica Steudeman, a senior biology major from Ada; and Tim Steudeman, a junior biology major from Ada.

The 12 students made 11 separate paper and poster presentations. The Alpha Chi National Conventions provides a high-profile outlet for growing the number of undergraduate research projects being conducted on campus.

 On March 28, the ECU chapter initiated 84 new members into Alpha Chi, which brings the current membership on campus to 294.

“Alpha Chi provides students with opportunities for research, leadership and service,” said ECU Alpha Chi Chapter Advisor Dr. Christine Pappas. “I really appreciate getting to know students in every major and to help them achieve their goals.”

Here are the 84 new inductees into the ECU chapter of Alpha Chi by hometown:


ADA - Robert Biles, Teresa Buretta, Zachariah Champagne, George Clay, Jennifer Cody, Mary Cox, Jimmy Gambol, Robel Gebreamlak, Chad Gray, Niran Hadad, Heidi Harkins, Taylor Manuel, Janelle Martin, Jessica McKennell, Ronnie Miller, Julia Morgan, Kaitlyn Quinlan, Kayla Ronning, Amanda Scott, KaCee Thompson, Teresa Thornhill, Megan Van Eaton, Erin Walling, Courtney Wright, Kaycie Young, Summer Zah

ARDMORE – Jordan Anderson, Glenda Brown, Aubrie Lehman, Charlotte May

ASHER – Ronald Allen

ATOKA – Susan Anderson, Amanda Hall

BLANCHARD – Porsha Courtney

BRAGGS – Garrett Kizzia

BRISTOW – Hannah Weigant

CADDO – David McMichael

CANADIAN – Brandi Taber

COALGATE – Wesley Eddings, Herschel Weathers

COLEMAN – Becky Floyd

DURANT – Amanda Gomes, Kaley Hughes

ELMORE CITY – Haley Dena, Maranda Weaver

FOSTER – Angela Johnson

GLENPOOL – Michael Cain


HUGO – Danielle Cory

 LEBANON – Candice Grant

MACOMB – Andrew Weiss

MADILL – Daren Ellis

MARIETTA – Paula Davis

MAUD – Krysten Isenhower

McALESTER – Nikoloas Razo

NOBLE – Megan Hart

NORMAN – Kaylee Thompson

OKMULGEE – Bailey Cusher

PAOLI – Kelsey Mantooth

PAULS VALLEY – Casey Fowler

POTEAU – Evan Clay

ROFF – Rachel Royal

SALLISAW – Kendall Dobbs

SASAKWA – Jennifer Allison, Linda Choate

SEMINOLE – Courtney Ackerman, Samuel Ackerman, Janis Hart, Abigail Hobbs, Kristin Sneed

SHAWNEE – Pamela Creel, Noah Hahn, Helen Harrison

STRATFORD – Chloe Henry, Cassandra Taylor

SULPHUR – Grant Bates

TECUMSEH – Jeffrey Doherty

TISHOMINGO – Allison Leonard

WETUMKA – Andrew Reeves

WEWOKA – Deana Casey

WILBURTON – Melonie Jackson


AURORA – Cady Murphy

HOUSTON – Alycea Price

IRVING – Dipa Makaju-Shrestha