- Ada, Oklahoma

Local News

August 1, 2013

Chickasaw Nation legislators win re-election

Ada —

Chickasaw Nation Election Secretary Rita Loder announced results Tuesday from the Chickasaw Nation general election.

Incumbent legislators Mary Jo Green of Ada and Linda Briggs of Marietta were re-elected by substantial margins.

Incumbent legislators Timothy K. Colbert of Sulphur and Beth Alexander of Achille will retain their seats, as neither received a challenger.

Incumbent Supreme Court Justice Mark H. Colbert of Ardmore will also retain his seat on the court, as no other candidates filed for Seat 1.

Pontotoc District Seat 5 incumbent Mary Jo Green of Ada received 1,960 votes to defeat challengers Mark Allen Johnson and Linda Greenwood, both of Ada, who received 816 and 373 votes respectively.

Pickens District Seat 3 incumbent Linda Briggs of Marietta received 1,183 votes to defeat challenger Michael Watson of Lone Grove who received 905 votes.

Timothy K. Colbert will retain Tishomingo District Seat 2, while Beth Alexander will retain Panola District Seat 1

Elected officials will take the oath of office Oct. 1.

For more information, contact Loder at (580) 310-6475 or 888-661-0137.


Pontotoc District

Seat 5 Mary Jo Green of Ada (Incumbent): 1,960 votes, or 62 percent.

Seat 5 Mark Allen Johnson of Ada: 818 votes, or 26 percent.

Seat 5 Linda Greenwood of Ada: 373 votes, or 12 percent.

Pickens District

Seat 3 Linda Briggs of Marietta (Incumbent): 1,183 votes, or 57 percent.

Seat 3 Michael Watson of Lone Grove: 905 votes, or 43 percent.

Panola District

Seat 1 Beth Alexander of Achille (Incumbent): No challenger.

Tishomingo District

Seat 2 Timothy K. Colbert of Sulphur (Incumbent): No challenger.

Supreme Court

Seat 1 Mark H. Colbert of Ardmore (Incumbent): No challenger.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Local News
AP Video
Raw: More Than 100,000 Gather for Easter Sunday Raw: Greeks Celebrate Easter With "Rocket War" Police Question Captain, Crew on Ferry Disaster Raw: Orthodox Christians Observe Easter Rite Ceremony Marks 19th Anniversary of OKC Bombing Raw: Four French Journalists Freed From Syria Raw: Massive 7.2 Earthquake Rocks Mexico Captain of Sunken SKorean Ferry Arrested Raw: Fire Destroys 3 N.J. Beachfront Homes Raw: Pope Presides Over Good Friday Mass Raw: Space X Launches to Space Station Superheroes Descend on Capitol Mall Man Charged in Kansas City Highway Shootings Obama Awards Navy Football Trophy Anti-semitic Leaflets Posted in Eastern Ukraine Raw: Magnitude-7.2 Earthquake Shakes Mexico City Ceremony at MIT Remembers One of Boston's Finest Raw: Students Hurt in Colo. School Bus Crash Deadly Avalanche Sweeps Slopes of Mount Everest

For years, Oklahoma was a mostly Democratic state. In recent years, there has been a swing to Republican affiliation. Have you changed your political affiliation to Republican?

     View Results