- Ada, Oklahoma

Local News

July 16, 2014

McSwain Theatre celebrates five years since re-boot

Ada — In the half-decade since its renovation, the historic McSwain Theatre has hosted a slew of country music legends, entertainers on the rise, children’s plays, family movies and much more.

Jae L. Stilwell and Crossover, the McSwain house band, along with talented area entertainers, present a monthly show packed with crowd-pleasing hits, solidifying the McSwain Theatre’s reputation as a premier location for entertainment in Ada and surrounding areas.

The tradition of highlighting local talent continues this month as the 2014 Grand Awards Show gets underway July 19  with the preliminary “16 and Under” and “Group and Gospel” round.

Ada-based band “Red River,” named “Entertainer of the Year” and top Group act last year, will return to defend its title at the 2014 Grand Awards Show.

Duo Gary McCarter and Carlee Eaton, Tishomingo and McAlester; Wiley Winters and Missy Rude, Paoli and Pauls Valley; “Heartland Sweethearts,” Ada and Edmond; Anne Young and Donna Marie, Richardson, Texas, and Ada; Lauren Lee and Liberty Road, Holdenville; Jimmy Tignor and Tom Schultz, “Gun Shy” and “Injunuity,” all of Ada, will be competing with “Red River” for the top spot in the Group category.

Fifteen young talented Oklahoma vocalists will compete in the “16 and Under” preliminary round, including 2013 “16 and Under” winner Sierra Sikes, Choctaw; Emily Faith, Kingfisher; Aleah Howard, Elmore City; Maddox Ross, Choctaw; Ally McDaniel, Cement; Britney Rodgers, Lawton; Emily Sconyers, McCloud; Herrold Sisters, Tulsa; Jana Lee, Wilburton; Kaitlyn Daniels, Atoka; Macy Blackburn, Stratford; Macy McKown, Norman; Carlee Eaton, McAlester; MacKenzee Crosby and Skye Anne Purcell, both of Ada.

Gospel acts “A Servant’s Heart,” Clancy Davis, Deborah Butcher,  Ken Hancock and 2013 winner “Southern SONlight, all of Ada, Lori and Ray North of Seminole and Vondi Harding, Pauls Valley, will compete in the Gospel preliminary round.

The top-five artists in each preliminary will be determined by audience vote and advance to compete for top overall honors.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Local News
AP Video
Texas Scientists Study Ebola Virus Smartphone Powered Paper Plane Debuts at Airshow Southern Accent Reduction Class Cancelled in TN Raw: Deadly Landslide Hits Indian Village Obama Chides House GOP for Pursuing Lawsuit New Bill Aims to Curb Sexual Assault on Campus Russia Counts Cost of New US, EU Sanctions 3Doodler Bring 3-D Printing to Your Hand Six PA Cops Indicted for Robbing Drug Dealers Britain Testing Driverless Cars on Roadways Raw: Thousands Flocking to German Crop Circle At Least 20 Chikungunya Cases in New Jersey Raw: Obama Eats Ribs in Kansas City In Virginia, the Rise of a New Space Coast Raw: Otters Enjoy Water Slides at Japan Zoo NCAA Settles Head-injury Suit, Will Change Rules Raw: Japanese Soldiers Storm Beach in Exercises Raw: Weapons Fire Hits UN School in Gaza Raw: Rocket Launches Into Space With Cargo Ship Broken Water Main Floods UCLA

Are you pleased that Oklahoma has repealed Common Core standards for public school students?

     View Results