- Ada, Oklahoma

Local News

April 4, 2014

Youth Leadership Oklahoma announces class

Oklahoma City — Leadership Oklahoma recently announced the selection of Youth Leadership Oklahoma Class XIV.

"Leadership Oklahoma is very excited about the 52 people chosen for this year's program," said Lee Anne Stone, Youth Leadership Oklahoma director. "YLOK Class XIV is an outstanding blend of student leaders selected from across the state.”

Members of Class XIV and their respective high schools are: Joseph Albert, Elk City; Tanner Allen, Laverne; Preston Atwood, Oklahoma Bible Academy; Finn Bender, Edmond Memorial; Cheney Bird, Alva; Avery Brant, Noble; Chase Bryer, Forgan; Sarah Cameron, Edmond Memorial; Sabrina Chaudry, Deer Creek; Monica Chavez, U.S. Grant; Maggie Collins, Lawton MacArthur; LeAnna Corbett, Owasso; Kelsey Couch, Norman North; Tyler Dang, Classen School of Advanced Studies; Preston Davis, Blanchard; Gabrielle Dick, Enid; Brianna Dowers, Edmond North; Emma Duncan-Edmond North; Thomas Fleming, Casady; Yesi Galicia, Harding Charter Prep; Brenna Gollihare, Kellyville; Madison Henson, Sulphur; Paige Jackson, Warner; Jennings Jarman, Bishop McGuiness; Annie Jordan, Cascia Hall; Meg Kane, home schooled; Sam Karchmer, Heritage Hall; Gracie Koonce, Norman; Lauren Lawrence, Stilwell; Cooper Little, Plainview; David Madigan, Lawton Eisenhower; Coleman Moody, Bishop McGuiness; Arden Moore, Muskogee; Madison Morrow, Altus; Claire Noel, Lawton Eisenhower; Angela Nwanko, Putnam City North; Kurt Pasque, Norman; Ellen Payne, Casady; Anthony Rayburn, Norman North; Addison Rhynes, Ada; Kara SaeLim, Broken Bow; Luke Schnare, Bixby; Summer Simeroth, Durant; Summer Stevens, Perry; Austin Stottlemyer, Kingston; Seth Truitt, Oklahoma Christian Schools; Gloria Tso, Bartlesville; Katie Warnick, Woodward; Jessica Watson, Noble; Abbey White, Deer Creek; Bailey Wilson, Enid; and Alana Wynn, McAlester.

A class is selected each year through a competitive process based on proven leadership, geographic, ethnic and cultural diversity. Selected students participate in a weeklong trip across the state, where they learn about Oklahoma’s history, culture, issues and leaders and begin to develop a greater understanding and appreciation for the state. 

YLOK was created in 2001 with the mission of developing young leaders who feel hope, pride and responsibility for Oklahoma’s future. 

Over 650 students have participated in this one-of-a-kind program. In 2008, Leadership Oklahoma was awarded the 2008 Innovator Award from the Southern Growth Policies Board and has been a nominee for the ONE Awards in 2009 and 2013. 

Leadership Oklahoma’s CEO is Dr. Ann Ackerman, and the youth director is Lee Anne Stone.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Local News
AP Video
Texas Scientists Study Ebola Virus Smartphone Powered Paper Plane Debuts at Airshow Southern Accent Reduction Class Cancelled in TN Raw: Deadly Landslide Hits Indian Village Obama Chides House GOP for Pursuing Lawsuit New Bill Aims to Curb Sexual Assault on Campus Russia Counts Cost of New US, EU Sanctions 3Doodler Bring 3-D Printing to Your Hand Six PA Cops Indicted for Robbing Drug Dealers Britain Testing Driverless Cars on Roadways Raw: Thousands Flocking to German Crop Circle At Least 20 Chikungunya Cases in New Jersey Raw: Obama Eats Ribs in Kansas City In Virginia, the Rise of a New Space Coast Raw: Otters Enjoy Water Slides at Japan Zoo NCAA Settles Head-injury Suit, Will Change Rules Raw: Japanese Soldiers Storm Beach in Exercises Raw: Weapons Fire Hits UN School in Gaza Raw: Rocket Launches Into Space With Cargo Ship Broken Water Main Floods UCLA

Are you pleased that Oklahoma has repealed Common Core standards for public school students?

     View Results