- Ada, Oklahoma

May 18, 2013

Five inducted into Hall of Fame

Norman — A protector of tribal archives, a generous philanthropist, a decorated military hero, an early tribal official and a progressive Chickasaw rancher and politician comprise the 2013 class of the Chickasaw Nation Hall of Fame.

Hall of Fame ceremonies were Tuesday, May 7, at Riverwind Showplace Theater in Norman.

The 2013 Chickasaw Hall of Fame inductees are Betty Ruth Kemp, of Norman; Colbert Latimer “Bud” Baker, of Marco Island, Fla.; Gene “Nashoba” Thompson, of Austin, Texas; Thomas Benjamin Thompson, Sr.; and Benson Pikey. 

Mr. Thompson and Mr. Pikey were inducted posthumously.

Chickasaw Gov. Bill Anoatubby participated in the 2013 induction ceremonies.

Read more in The Ada News. Call 580-332-4433 to subscribe today!