- Ada, Oklahoma

January 22, 2014

DAR holds meeting, announces winner

Club News

Ada — DAR Good Citizens winners recognized

Chimney Hill chapter of Daughters of the American Revolution extended an invitation to area high schools to participate in DAR Good Citizens program and scholarship contest. Four of the seven Pontotoc County schools accepted the invitation. 

One high school senior was selected as that school’s DAR Good Citizen, exhibiting the qualities of dependability, service, leadership and patriotism. The contest consisted of two parts: 70 percent personal and 30 percent essay.

At the DAR December meeting/reception, four students were recognized with Citizens pin, certificate and wallet recognition card. The winner won $25 and the opportunity to enter the district contest. 

Three of the students were unable to attend because of prior commitments. Ruth Ann Taylor, Good Citizens chairman made a presentation to Jacie Sellers, the student representing Latta High School. 

The local DAR chapter winner was Jacie Sellers and she received the $25 and read her essay to the chapter. The other finalists were Megan Dillard, Ada High School; Kalli Mowdy, Vanoss High School; and Wyatt Shaw, Byng High School. 



Chapter meets for monthly meeting

The Daughters of the American Revolution Chimney Hill Chapter met Jan. 14, 2014, at 1:30 p.m. at Ada Arts and Heritage Center.

The opening ritual was led by Regent Dana Hill and Chaplain Jessie Glover.  Tommie Beddow led the Pledge of Allegiance, Suzanne McFarlane led “The American’s Creed,” and “The Star Spangled Banner” was led by Ruth Ann Taylor, accompanied by Rita Floyd.

Regent Dana Hill gave the message from President General Lynn Forney Young.  Beginning Jan. 1, 2014, NSDAR will accept Y-DNA evidence in support of new member applications and supplemental applications. 

Vice Regent Ruth Ann Taylor reminded members to bring collected can tabs by the March meeting so that she can take them to State Conference in April.      

 The minutes of the previous meeting, read by Mary Scalf, were approved as read.   Joyce Gentry gave the treasurer’s report.  

For the National Defense report, Elizabeth Witherow gave information about the National Terrorism Advisory System (NTAS), which replaces the color-coded Homeland Security Advisory System (HSAS).          

Kathy Howry, Membership Committee, reported on prospective members.

For the Indian Minute, Mary Pfeffer told about Kokopelli, a prehistoric deity and traveling flute-player who remains a sacred figure to many Native Americans in the desert Southwest.

Suzanne McFarlane, Conservation Committee, polled members concerning the number who recycle and  the ways in which we conserve our natural resources.

Mary Scalf, Veterans Committee, reported on a trip to visit our six adopted veterans at the Sulphur Veterans Center.  Also, Judy Kurz had the winning bid of $10 for Buffy.

Suzanne McFarlane, American Heritage Committee, reported that Loretta Yin has been nominated for the Women in the Arts award.

In lieu of a program, the time was used to answer questions on the Master Questionnaire, and several committee chairmen submitted annual reports.  

Mary Scalf, chairman, gave the Nominating Committee report.  Other members of the nominating committee are Tommie Beddow, Arletta Good, Jean Kelley, and Marian Paniaqua.  

The proposed slate of officers for 2014-2016 included  Regent- Ruth Ann Taylor; Vice Regent- Myrtie Clarke; Chaplain- Helen Roberts; Secretary- Mary Scalf; Treasurer- Joyce Gentry; Registrar- Marian Paniagua; Historian- Jean Kelley; Librarian- Elizabeth Witherow.  Suzanne McFarlane made a motion that the slate of officers be elected by acclamation.  Lorraine Hooker seconded the motion, which passed unanimously.  

Regent Hill announced that the State Conference will be at the Embassy Suites Hotel in Norman, April 10-12.  She will email a newsletter containing registration information and needs to know who will attend by March 1.  

Lorraine Hooker, Kiamichi Country district director, gave an update on the DAR Good Citizens essay contest.  The district winner was a student whose essay was entered into the competition by the Talking Leaves Chapter in Muldrow.

Hostesses for the meeting were Jacquie Cartmell, Lou Ann Hoover, Susan Schmidt, and Ruth Ann Taylor.

The door prize was won by Arletta Good.

The next meeting is Tuesday, Feb. 11, 2014, at 1:30 p.m. at the Ada Arts and Heritage Center.

Members attending were Betty Allred, Nyta Ballard, Janet Barrett, Elaine Bearden, Tommie Beddow, Carlene Benson, Jacquie Cartmell, Myrtie Clarke, JaNell Fleming, Rita Floyd, Joyce Gentry, Jessie Glover,   Arletta Good, Dana Hill, Lorraine Hooker, Lou Ann Hoover, Kathy Howry, Phyllis Inslee, Jean Kelley, Judy Kurz, Jean Lyon, Suzanne McFarlane, Marian Paniagua, Mary Pfeffer, Sara Pritchett, Mary Scalf, Susan Schmidt, Ruth Ann Taylor, Jerry Wages, and Elizabeth Witherow.  Guest:  Carol Meyer.