- Ada, Oklahoma

December 26, 2013

Area organizations report fall meetings

Club News

Ada — Tanti Study Club

President Sandra Ingram began the meeting of the Tanti Study Club in the home of Myrna Glance on Oct. 8, 2013. Aggie Allen led members in the club collect.

The program was presented by Sammy Edwards. She discussed the greatness of Oklahoma City University’s programs.

Jo Roland and husband, John Bedford, founded the dance school now known as the Ann Lacy School of Dance. The Ann Lacy School of Dance is number 2 in the United States, with Juilliard in New York holding first place.

The Ann Lacy School of Dance holds the record for the most Miss Americas, Miss Oklahomas and Rockettes.

Many outstanding programs offering 80 degrees include law degrees and two Ph.D. programs in nursing.

A few notables in the field of art and entertainment were Kristin Chenoweth, known for her role in "Wicked"; Jayne Jayroe, Miss America 1976; Chris Merritt, an operatic tenor; Kelli O’Hara, a three-time Tony Award-nominated actress; Susan Powell, Miss America of 1981; Shantel Smith, Miss America 1996; Gerald Steichen, New York City Opera conductor of "Cats" and "The Phantom of the Opera"; and many others.

Attending members were Martha Wigdor, Norma Underhill, Martha Sweatt, Z.D. Parker, Bryna Lane, Sandra Ingram, Rosa Hendrix, Sandra Haney, Treva Gurley, Paula Green, Myrna Glance, Sammy Edwards, Carol Davis, Omega Carson, Pat Bonar, Betty Binkley, Aggie Allen and Jane Adair.



The Daughters of the American Revolution Chimney Hill Chapter met Sept. 10, 2013,  in the First Christian Church Fellowship Hall.

Vice Mayor Darrell Nemecek read a proclamation from the city of Ada proclaiming the week of Sept. 17-23 Constitution Week in Ada.

The opening ritual was led by Regent Dana Hill, assisted by Jessie Glover, chaplain, who gave the opening prayer. Jerry Wages led the "Pledge of Allegiance," Jacquie Cartmell led "The American’s Creed," and "The Star Spangled Banner" was led by Ruth Ann Taylor.

Regent Dana Hill gave the President General’s message, stating that the 122nd Continental Congress had the largest attendance since 1976. The President General encouraged members to commemorate the 226th anniversary of the signing of the Constitution during Constitution Week, Sept. 17-23.

Vice Regent Ruth Ann Taylor stated that she is working with area schools for the upcoming Good  Citizens awards. Also, she will make special presentations at area schools during Constitution Week.

Chaplain Jessie Glover announced that two former members, Jackie Uhles and June Hart, had died recently.

The minutes of the previous meeting were read by Mary Scalf, and Joyce Gentry gave the treasurer's report.

 The national defense report, by Elizabeth Witherow, stated that the greatest threats to our national defense at this time are cyber- defense issues and the national economy. She also distributed copies of information from FEMA concerning steps for emergency preparations, including a list of emergency supplies.

Kathy Howry, membership committee, reported that Judy Kurz and Barbara Langley have been verified for membership. She also reported on pending and prospective members.

 The Indian Minute, by Mary Pfeffer, was about a special Navajo-influenced dinner served at a restaurant in Phoenix, Ariz., and creative dishes featuring prickly pears.

 Mary Scalf, veterans committee, reported plans for delivering cookies and brownies to the 122 veterans at the Sulphur Veterans Center on Sept. 23.

Suzanne McFarlane, conservation committee, encouraged members to join the National Arbor Day Foundation. Arbor Day in Oklahoma is during the last week in March.

Jerry Wages Constitution Week chairman, introduced Dr. Christopher Bean, assistant professor of  History at East Central University, who spoke on the development of the U. S. Constitution. The Articles of Confederation limited the authority needed by Congress to deal with problems and taxes, so in 1787 the Constitutional Convention met in Philadelphia to form the current Constitution.

Joyce Gentry, treasurer, presented the proposed budget for 2013-2014, which had been approved by the executive board on June 19, 2013. She made a motion to accept the budget as presented, and Lorraine Hooker seconded the motion. The motion was passed unanimously.

Regent Hill announced that the chapter was presented with the Chapter Achievement Award and the Project Patriot Award at the workshop in August.

Joyce Gentry asked for pictures of veterans and information about their branch of service for the poster displays.

Hostesses for the meeting were Suzanne McFarlane, Mary Pfeffer, Helen Roberts and Ann Stevenson.

The door prize was won by Jessie Glover.

Members attending were Betty Allred, Elaine Bearden, Tommie Beddow, Jacquie Cartmell, Myrtie Clarke, Joan Elliott, JaNell Fleming, Rita Floyd, Joyce Gentry, Jessie Glover, Arletta Good, Dana Hill, Donnetta Hoggatt, Lorraine Hooker, Lou Ann Hoover, Kathy Howry, Phyllis Inslee, Ann Klepper, Judy Kurz, Vickie Lee, Suzanne McFarlane, Marian Paniagua, Mary Pfeffer, Sara Pritchett, Helen Roberts, Mary Scalf, Marie Spears, Ruth Ann Taylor, Jerry Wages, Jana Walker, Allene Warren and Elizabeth Witherow.

Guests were Dr. Christopher Bean, Margaret Mouser, Ruth Franks and Julie Luke.